Marguerite R. Dow Canadian Heritage Award

Awarded by the Faculty of Arts and Humanities through the generosity of Marguerite R. Dow, Professor Emerita, The University of Western Ontario, who taught English and Drama in the Faculty of Education from 1965 to 1985.

A prize up to $1,000 is awarded competitively to a Canadian citizen or permanent resident registered in any undergraduate or graduate program on Main campus at Western. 

Stay tuned for 2023 results!

Contest opens Monday, January 9, 2023

Contest Rules

  1. Entries must be submitted no later than midnight on Tuesday, January 31, 2023.
  2. Participants must submit, in English or French, any personal and recent work of creative writing, in any genre or length, on a theme of Canadian Heritage.
  3. The theme may focus on any subject (such as place, relationships, history, circumstances, etc.).
  4. You should submit work that has not hitherto been published or entered in any other competition.
  5. If submitting in French, please include an English translation.
  6. One entry per person.
  7. One of the following would be a suitable submission:
    • a poem, or a brief series of linked poems
    • a one-act play, or scenes from a longer work
    • a short story or novella, or selections from a longer work of fiction
  8. Submissions must include a separate cover page with the following information:
    • your name
    • student number
    • email address
    • permanent mailing address
    • telephone number
    • contest name: Marguerite R. Dow Canadian Heritage Award
  9. Do not include any personally identifiable information on the work itself.
  10. Entries must be submitted by email in PDF format to:
  11. The winner will be notified by email by April of 2023.
  12. The results will be posted on the Department of English and Writing Studies website and social media channels.


Shelli Hunter |


Year First prize Title Adjudicators
2022 Jessica Le "Breakfast at Food Basics" Professors Jo Devereux and Donna Pennee
2021 Zanna Fong "Lost in Translation" Professors Gabrielle Ceraldi and Mark McDayter
2020 Brittany Robinson "27 Kilometers North of Moscow" Professors James Purkis and Gabrielle Ceraldi

2019 Gabrielle Drolet
Noelle Schmidt
"Little Malta" & "an inheritance" Professors Joshua Schuster and James Purkis
2018 Emma Croll-Baehre & Trevor Zaple "Untitled" & "Sodom Road" Professors Madeline Bassnett and Joshua Schuster
2017 Alero Ogbeide “The Best Worst Place I’ve Ever Lived” Professors Madeline Bassnett and Joshua Schuster