Department of Visual Arts Open Studios


Open Studios: Friday February 9, 12-1pm & 3-5pm

For conference, exhibition and events, see full scehdule below.

The Department of Visual Arts Graduate Students at Western University invite you to attend the 2018 edition of Open Studios and the Graduate Conference: INWARD>OUTWARD: (De)constructing Experiences in Public Spaces. Tour our MFA and PhD studio spaces in the John Labatt Visual Arts Centre, and meet our student artists. This year, the event will coincide with the ArtLab exhibition Inward Outward.

Schedule of Events:

Opening Reception for Inward Outward at ArtLab Gallery: Thurs Feb 8, 5pm to 7pm
Art Now! Speakers' Series - Andrew Hunter: Thurs Feb 8, 7pm
Conference Panel Discussions: Fri Feb 9, 10am-12pm and 1-3pm
Open Studios: Fri Feb 9, 12-1pm and 3-5pm
Keynote Address by Srimoyee Mitra: Fri Feb 9, 5pm

The two-day event begins with the opening reception of Inward Outward, an exhibition in the ArtLab Gallery guest curated by MA candidates Regan Brenner and Madelaine Tripp, from 5pm to 7pm, Thursday February 8th.

Following the reception will be the first keynote address by Andrew Hunter (Senior Curator at Art Gallery of Guelph, educator, artist), as part of the Art Now! Speakers’ Series. Friday February 9th begins at 10am with panel discussions on this year’s theme Inward Outward.

Panel discussion topics range from Identity and the Body, Public Spaces, Virtual Spaces, and Challenging Perception. Panel discussions go until 3pm, with an hour break at 12pm during which Open Studios would take place. Open Studios will continue again from 3pm to 5pm. The second keynote address by Srimoyee Mitra (Director of Stamps Gallery, University of Michigan) will take place at 5pm.


OpenStudioPoster.jpgOpen Studio Artists

Claire Bartleman
Kate Carder-Thompson
Tyler Durbano
Sharmistha Kar
Graham Macaulay
Johnathan Onyschuk
Lydia Santia
Matthew Trueman
Zhizi Wang
Joy Wong

Colin Dorward
Eeva Siivonen

Conference Panelists:

Jessica Sealey (Western)
Shayla MacDonald (Western)
Adam Blair
Rashida Ricketts (Parsons)
Roy G. Guzmàn (University of Minnesota)
Edo Volbeda (Montreal U)
Rachelle Sabourin (York U)
Tommy Ting (OCADU)
Julia Prudhomme (McMaster)
Andrew Woods (Western)
Bruno Sinder (Western)
Anthony Potulese (McGill)
Peter M. Flannery (Guelph)
Brianna Lagace (Western)
Quinn McGlade Ferentzy (Guelph)
Alex Harasymiw (Western)
Kelly Hines
Claire Wilcox (McMaster)
Ouennassa Khiari (Montreal U)
Andrea Avidad (New School)

RSVP via Facebook 
Instagram: @westernuvisarts