Search Western University

Quick Links:

Western Award of Excellence

The Western Award of Excellence Logo on top of a purple theatre curtain

2023 Western Award of Excellence

Western is proud to recognize staff members who demonstrate exceptional commitment to the University’s values and who contribute in a demonstrable way to Western's reputation as a leading institution of higher learning. The Western Award of Excellence provides meaningful and enriching recognition, offering respect and appreciation to outstanding staff and academic administrative leaders. Our goal is to have the Award of Excellence foster a culture of recognition across the University and to complement and encourage recognition programs at the department level.

Each year Western faculty, staff, students and alumni are invited to nominate an individual staff member or a team of staff who make an outstanding contribution to our campus community.

Congratulations to the 2023 Western Award of Excellence recipients and all those who were nominated for this award:

  • Diane Mills – Faculty of Music
  • Erika Hill – Geography & Environment
  • Fay Harrison – BrainsCAN
  • Heidi Van Galen – History
  • Louise Koza – Human Resources
  • Sridhar Ramamurthy – Surface Science Western
  • Sylvia Kontra – Languages & Cultures
  • Western Technology Services Moves, Adds & Changes (MAC) Team: Chris Hromlak, Dallas Heywood, Heather Woods, Kifle Mekuria, Levi Otten, Paul Hill, Ricky Price, Robert Vanderminnen & Sarah Hodgson

The 2023 recipients will be formally celebrated at a ceremony being held on February 14, 2024, at 11:30 a.m. in the Great Hall, Somerville House. To attend the ceremony, please log in to MyHuman Resources and follow these steps: 

  • Select "Training" 
  • Select "Enroll in Internal Training Courses"
  • Select "Search by Course Number" (TWAE)
  • Enter "TWAE" and click "Search"
  • Click "View Available Sessions"
  • Click on "2023" under "Session"
  • Click "Continue"
  • Click "Submit"
  • Save the date and time in your calendar

If you have questions about the awards, please contact The Staff Recognition Team.