Scholarships & Awards

Western Science celebrates excellence. Numerous scholarships and awards are established and funded by individual donors, corporations, faculties, and departments to ensure the success of our students. Scholarships and Awards are conferred during the academic year based on the student's previous academic performance.

For in-course awards, see individual Department websites.

Western Admission Scholarship

Western’s Admission Scholarships are unlimited and automatically awarded upon admission to Western. No application is required to be considered for these scholarships.

In order to be eligible for an admission scholarship, a student must apply for admission directly from secondary school to Western's main campus for full-time first-year studies. International students are eligible to be considered for the Western Admission Scholarships. Eligibility is based on successful completion of the secondary school diploma and on the student’s final admission average, including prerequisite courses, as calculated by Western for the program to which the student has confirmed acceptance. Western will determine averages for applicants who are not studying in a Canadian secondary school based on: curriculum, grading practices, and grading scale interpretation.

Western Scholarship of Excellence. 250 scholarships awarded to students with the top high school admission average. The value of the scholarship will be $6,000 in first-year plus $2,000 for an optional study abroad experience.

Western Scholarship of Distinction. Applicants with a final admission average of 92% or higher will receive $2,500 in first-year plus $1,000 for an optional study abroad experience.

Western Admission Scholarship. Applicants with a final admission average between 90% and 91.9% will receive $1,500 in first-year plus $1,000 for an optional study abroad experience.

Canada Wide Science Fair Entrance Scholarship

Western is proud to offer an Entrance Scholarship to each winner of a Gold, Silver or Bronze Medal.
Gold Medal: $4000
Silver Medal: $2000
Bronze Medal: $1000
  • You must maintain an "A" average in your final marks in your last year of high school.
  • You must register for full-time studies at Western's main campus.
  • This award is tenable for students registered in Year One only.
  • This award can be claimed only once.
  • The value of the scholarship is the amount displayed on your certificate signed by the Dean of Science.

Some students will win a scholarship more than once, but they cannot claim it more than once.

Example 1. A student wins a Silver Medal at the CWSF in 2018, and then a Gold Medal at the CWSF in 2019. This student may claim the larger Scholarship associated with the Gold Medal, but not the Scholarship associated with the Silver Medal.

Example 2. A student registers at another University in year-one and then transfers to Western in year-two. This student will not be able to claim the entrance scholarship because it is restricted to students in academic year-one only.

Example 3. A student won a Gold medal in 2017, and so also won a Western scholarship of $2000. They entered the first-year at Western in September of 2019, by which time the value of the scholarship had risen to $4000. They will receive a scholarship of $2000, the amount shown on their certificate.


National Scholarship Program

National Scholarships are designed to recognize all-around excellence. They are awarded on the basis of outstanding academic performance to candidates who demonstrate the ability for creative and innovative thought and a passion for the pursuit of learning. National Scholarships also recognize exceptional achievement in extracurricular activities such as the arts and athletics. A special emphasis is placed on a candidate's commitment to community service through ongoing contributions to school and community life.

  • President’s Entrance Scholarships 5 at $65,000 ($20,000 for year one, $15,000 annually for years two to four) and; Up to 15 at $50,000 ($10,000 annually, plus $10,000 towards first-year residence).
  • Beryl Ivey Continuing Entrance Award ONE at $64,000; payable $16,000 per academic year for a period of four years.
  • International President's Entrance Scholarships 3 at $50,000 ($10,000 annually, plus $10,000 towards first-year residence costs)
  • Faculty Entrance Scholarships Up to 15 at $30,000 ($6,000 annually, plus $6,000 towards first-year residence)
  • National Scholarship Study Abroad Awards Up to 39 at $2,500 for up to 4 months (one term), $5,000 for over 4 months (more than one term)

National Merit Awards

Those students who are interviewed for a National Scholarship but not offered a National Scholarship or a Schulich Leader Scholarship and accepting an offer of admission to main campus will receive a one-year National Merit Award valued at $2,000. Recipients will also retain eligibility for an Admission Scholarship ranging in value from $1,000 to $10,000.

Schulich Leader Scholarships

Are you a high school student interested in Western Science? You could be eligible for one of Canada's largest and most recognized scholarship programs, the Schulich Leader Scholarships.

More information can be found on the Schulich Leader Scholarships website.