Distinguished Lectureships

The Department of Chemistry annually hosts distinguished lectures. The Fred Pattison and 3M Lecture Series are highlights of the academic year and host preeminent scholars in the international chemistry community in all areas of Chemistry. The list of past lecturers includes several Nobel Laureates. The Paul de Mayo lectureship honours a recent Western Chemistry graduate, who is invited to return "home" to present a lecture on their current research. The recently established Bancroft Award is bestowed annually to a registered Ph.D. student in the Chemistry Department, based on research excellence demonstrated by the quality and quantity of peer-reviewed publications since registration as a graduate student at Western.

Fred Pattison

Recipient: TBA

This lecture series was endowed by the family of Fred L.M. Pattison, Head of the Department from 1959 to 1965. Recent speakers for this lecture include Michael Sherburn (Australian National University), Craig Hawker (University of California, Santa Barbara), Stephen Hashmi (University of Heidelberg, Germany), and Darren J. Dixon (University of Oxford).

Paul de Mayo

Recipient:  Dr. Xuchun Wang (T.K. Sham, supervisor)

Paul de Mayo was a dedicated teacher-scholar at Western for 35 years. After his death in 1994, contributions for a fund to commemorate his life and work came from around the world, reflecting the high respect, admiration, and affection of his former collaborators and colleagues. This fund now honors one of Western's top graduate students each year.

Bancroft Award

RecipientJustin Lomax (Paul Ragogna, supervisor)

This award was established in 2019 with a generous gift from G. Michael Bancroft (Ph.D. '67 Cambridge, DSc '06 Western) and his wife Joan Bancroft (B.A.'67 Manitoba).



This lecture series was established in 1962. Click below to see past recipients.