More than 200 Master's and Doctoral students have successfully completed the programs of Theory and Criticism since its inception in 1990. A listing of all graduates and thesis titles can be found here.

Recent Successes

Tenure-stream appointments

Dustin Atlas (MA 2005): tenure-track appointment as Assistant Professor and Coordinator of Jewish Studies at Queen's University.

Mary Bunch (MA 2002, PhD 2010): Assistant Professor In Cinema and Media Arts; Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Vision, Disability and the Arts - School of the Arts, Media, Performance & Design, York University.

Jonathan Fardy (PhD 2014): tenure-track appointment in Art History at Idaho State University.

Kate Lawless (PhD 2014): tenure-track appointment as Assistant Professor in the Centre for Global Studies, Faculty of Arts and Social Science, Huron University College.

Dolleen Tisawii’ashii Manning (MA 2005, PhD 2017) tenure-track appointment in Philosophy and the Cultural Studies Program; Queens National Scholar in Philosophy, Queens University.

Svitlana Matviyenko (PhD 2015), tenure-track appointment as Assistant Professor, Critical Media Analysis, Simon Fraser University.

John Vanderheide (MA 2002, PhD 2011): tenure-track position as an Assistant Professor in the Department of English at Huron University College.

Jakub Zdebik (MA 2002, PhD 2007): tenure-track Assistant Professor of Art History and Theory in the Visual Arts Department at the University of Ottawa.

Postdoctoral Fellowships

Emanuele Leonardi (PhD 2012) holds a research fellowship at the Centro de Estudos Sociais of the University of Coimbra, Portugal.

Jarrad Reddekop (PhD 2014) is associate Fellow at the University of Victoria's Centre for Studies in Religion and Society.

Benjamin Woodard (PhD 2015), is holding a 3-year postdoctoral fellowship at the In­sti­tut für Phi­lo­so­phie und Kunst­wis­sen­schaft at Leuphana University in Luneburg, Germany.

Past Graduates - Where are they now?

Mark Asberg (MA 1999; PhD, 2008), Librarian in Calgary

Tim August (MA 2006), Asst. Prof. of Comparative Literature, SUNY-Stony Brook

Brock Baines (MA 2009), Doctoral student in Philosophy at the University of Oregon

Scott Bakker (MA 1997), Novelist, London ON

Nandita Biswas (MA 1996; PhD Toronto), Assoc. Prof. of Political Science, UWO

Keith Bresnahan (MA 2000; PhD York) Assoc. Prof. at OCAD

Brett Buchanan (MA 1999; PhD, De Paul), Assoc. Prof. of Philosophy and Director, School of the Environment, Laurentian Univ.

Christopher Bundock (MA 2005; PhD UWO), Visiting Asst. Prof., Huron University College

Andrew Case (MA 2018), Harvard Law School, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Fiona Coll (MA 2004), PhD Toronto, Asst. Prof. of English SUNY-Oswego

Shea Coulson (MA 2005), lawyer, Vancouver

Jason D'Aoust (PhD 2013), Affiliate Scholar at Oberlin College, Oberlin, OH; Administrative Director of Opera Cares Foundation, Montréal; Administrative Director of Sharon Azrieli Foundation for the Arts, Montréal; Founding Member, President, General Director of Ensemble Poiesis, Montréal

Andrea (Dumbrell) Charise (MA 2005; PhD Toronto), Asst. Prof. English and Interdisciplinary Centre for Health & Society (ICHS), University of Toronto Scarborough; Asst. Prof., Department of Psychiatry, Faculty of Medicine; Director, SCOPE: The Health Humanities Learning Lab

Robert Diab (MA 1995; LL.B., LL.M., PhD (UBC)), Law Professor, Thomson Rivers 

Jason Dockstader (MA 2005; PhD 2009), Lecturer in Philosophy at Cork Univ., Ireland

Kane Faucher (PhD 2010), Asst. Prof., sessional, FIMS, UWO

Ariel Fuenzalida (PhD 2009), Part-time Professor at the School of Sociological and Anthropological Studies, University of Ottawa; Contract Instructor for the Dept. of Sociology and Anthropology, Carleton University.

Amanda Grzyb (MA 1996; PhD Duke), Assoc. Prof., FIMS, UWO

Gordon Hughes (MA 1996; PhD Princeton), Mellon Asst. Prof. of Art History, Rice University

Mark Jull (PhD 2012), Lecturer, Dept. of Sociology, UWO

Lila Knighton (MA 2004), Private practitioner of clinical social work/ psychotherapist, Toronto and Hamilton

Josh Lambier (MA 2005) Director Public Humanities at Western

Christopher Langlois (PhD 2014), Adjunct Lecturer of English, Department of English, Concordia University.

Nathaniel Leach (MA 1999; PhD UWO), Assoc. Prof. and Chair of English Dept., Cape Breton Univ.

Dolleen Manning (MA 2005, PhD 2017), working at the IICSI-associated Institute for the Public Life of Arts and Ideas (IPLAI) at McGill University.

Gerald McKinley (MA 2008), Adjunct Assistant Professor, Anthropology Dept., UWO

Claudie Massicotte (PhD 2013), Assistant Professor of Literary Theory and Criticism in English and Director of Interdisciplinary Studies at Young Harris College in Georgia, US.

Colin MacPherson (MA 1998), Chief, Dept. of Psychiatry, Quinte Health Care, Belleville

Cristian Melchiorre (MA 2003; PhD 2010), Licensed Psychoanalyst, Ottawa ON

Jonathan Murphy (MA 2004; PhD SUNY-Buffalo), Asst. Professor of English, Texas A & M International Univ.

Kimberley Olynyk (MA 1999), lecturer at Univ. of Winnipeg, Centre for Academic Writing and Dept. of English

David Patrick (MA 2001), General Practitioner, Guelph

Andrew Pendakis (MA 2003; PhD, McMaster), Asst. Prof. of English, Brock Univ.

James Penney (SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellow 2002), Full Professor of Cultural Studies and French at Trent University

Laura Penny (MA 1998; PhD SUNY Buffalo), Writer and Asst. Professor, sessional, Univ. of King’s College, Halifax

Jeremy Proulx (MA 2004; PhD McMaster), Lecturer in Philosophy, Eastern Michigan University

John Sawicki (MA 1997), Editor, Irwin Law Inc.

Stephen Schryer (MA 1999; PhD, UC-Irvine), Assoc. Prof. of English at UNB

Andrea Schwam (MA 2002), Coordonatrice Pedagogique at Monceau Langues, Paris

Adrian Sinclair (MA 2008), Instructor at CITYSTUDIO, Vancouver; Dir. of Engagement at Transformation Projects Inc.

Surti Singh (MA 2002; PhD De Paul), Asst. Prof. of Philosophy, American Univ. of Cairo

Heather Snell (MA 2000; PhD UWO), Assoc. Prof. of English, Univ., of Winnipeg

Kevin Spencer (MA 2009), Professor in the Dept. of English Language and Literature at Korea University; Ph.D. candidate in Dept. of English at Duke University

Leonard Stan (SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellow, 2008-10), Asst. Prof., Dept. of Humanities, York University

Graeme Stout (MA 2000), Senior Lecturer and Film Studies Coordinator, Dept. of Cultural Studies and Comp. Lit., University of Minnesota (Twin Cities)

Dorian Stuber (MA 1999; PhD Cornell), Assoc. Prof. of English, Hendrix College

Grant Stirling (MA 1992; PhD York), Chief Development Officer, Sick Kids Foundation

Joshua Synenko (MA 2007), Assistant Professor (LTA) in Cultural Studies at Trent University

Imre Szeman (MA 1992; PhD Duke), CRC Dept. of English, U. of Alberta

Sarah Trimble (MA 2007; PhD McMaster), Assistant Professor, Women and Gender Studies Institute, University of Toronto

Tyler Evans-Tokaryk (MA 1996; PhD UWO), Associate Professor, Teaching Stream; Director, Robert Gillespie Academic Skills Centre; University of Toronto Mississauga

Inna Viriasova (PhD 2013), Lecturer, Department of Politics, Acadia University

Are you a Theory Centre graduate? Let us know what you're up to! Email Us