Meritorious Service Award

Staff Award


Western’s staff are central to the University’s ability to create a framework for success in the search for truth and the application of knowledge, Veritas et Utilitas, Western’s objectives since 1878.

The Faculty of Health Sciences Meritorious Service Award is intended to recognize a full-time staff member whose service record is judged to be quantitatively and qualitatively superior over a period of several years. Each award consists of a monetary prize ($300.00) and a commemorative plaque.

Previous Winners

View Previous Winners

2019 Cheryl Harding (Physical Therapy)
2018 Michelle Wagler (Arthur Labatt Family School of Nursing)
2017 Emericks Rivas (Health Studies)
2016 Gord MacDonald (Office of the Dean)
2015 Shannon Woods (Kinesiology)
2014 Cathy Collins (Health & Rehabilitation Sciences)
2013 Tina Czyzewski (Occupational Therapy)
Wendy Mandigo (Kinesiology) 
2012 Janet Harman (Communication Sciences and Disorders)
2011 Neil Fulford (Office of the Dean)
2010 Joanna Crabb (Physical Therapy)
2009 Wanda Chebott (Office of the Dean)
Linda Brown (Office of the Dean) 
2008 Jenn Symmes (Kinesiology)
2007 Helen Kerr (Occupational Therapy) 
Angela Law (Nursing) 
2006 Marion Lewis (Kinesiology)
2005 Rick Strange (Office of the Dean)
2004 Eileen Grainger (Office of the Dean)
Denice Litzan (Nursing)
Nancy Caley (Communication Sciences & Disorders) 
2003 Tova Zarnowiecki (Kinesiology)
Dawn Munday (School of Health Studies)
Pat Darling (School of Physical Therapy) 

Eligibility & Nomination Procedure

All full-time regular staff who have been employed for at least three full years in the Faculty of Health Sciences are eligible for consideration for this award.

Signed nomination forms are due by April 30 and should be accompanied by the following:

  • Letter of nomination detailing the reasons for the submission (600 words)
  • Letter of recommendation from the supervisor
  • Letters of support from at least three colleagues

Nomination forms and all supporting documentation should be submitted to:

Sarah Padfield
Office of the Dean
Arthur and Sonia Labatt Health Sciences Building - Room 200
London, Ontario CANADA N6A 5B9

All received nominations will be reviewed by the selection committee, which will consist of four (4) of the following members:

  • Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences (Chair)
  • Associate or Assistant Deans, Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Director of Operations and Finance, Faculty of Health Sciences (or designate)
  • Previous Year's Award Winner

The award will be presented at the Faculty of Health Sciences' Spring Celebration in June.