History of Philosophy


The Philosophy Department at the University of Western Ontario is a major centre for the study of the History of Philosophy. We have one of the largest contingents of scholars specializing in the History of Philosophy in North America, offering graduate students the opportunity to study a wide range of topics, figures, and historical periods. We have internationally recognized expertise in many of the more traditional figures in the History of Philosophy, yet we also emphasize the work of those individuals and groups whose contributions to philosophy have hitherto been under-appreciated. In the recent Philosophical Gourmet Report, the department ranked particularly highly in the areas of 17th century philosophy, 18th century philosophy, and Kant. The department also has a long tradition of interaction between History of Philosophy and Philosophy of Science, and is home to a number of active research groups (see below).


Core Faculty
Robert DiSalle (History and Philosophy of Physics, esp. Newton, Leibniz, and Kant)
Corey Dyck (Kant, 18th Century German Philosophy)
Devin Henry (Ancient Philosophy)
Benjamin Hill (17th and 18th Century Philosophy)
Dennis Klimchuk (History of Political Philosophy, Kant)
Anthony Skelton (History of Ethics)
Christopher Smeenk (History and Philosophy of Physics, esp. Newton)

Emeritus Faculty
Lorne Falkenstein (18th Century Philosophy)
William Harper (History and Philosophy of Science, esp. Newton and Kant)
John Nicholas
Kathleen Okruhlik (History and Philosophy of Science, esp. Leibniz and Kant)
John Thorp (Ancient Philosophy)

Faculty with Related Interests
Antonio Calcagno (Medieval and Renaissance Philosophy)

Research Groups
Descartes Research Group
Kant Research Group