Climate Committee

The Department’s Climate Committee is a body of faculty members, staff, graduate and undergraduate students whose role is to oversee and coordinate issues having to do with inclusiveness and respect in the department and to work towards the establishment and maintenance of a good climate for all. The Committee is especially concerned with ways in which the department is a welcoming one for members of groups traditionally under-represented in philosophy. It reports to the Department, the Graduate Affairs Committee and the Undergraduate Affairs Committee, drawing attention to issues that in its view need addressing, proposing policy changes and bringing motions for consideration.

Present composition of the Climate Committee

Wayne Myrvold (Faculty), Chair of the Committee Committee
Helen Fielding (Faculty)
Elisa Kilbourne(Staff)
Graduate Student (TBA)
Undergraduate Student (TBA)

Minorities and Philosophy (MAP)

MAP is an internationally established group of philosophers from around the world who are committed to improving our profession with respect to both theoretical and practical issues regarding equity and diversity. There are MAP chapters in several countries around the world. Western’s chapter was officially approved on January 1, 2015, making it the third Canadian chapter (of a total of three).

For more information about MAP, please visit: http://www.mapforthegap.com, or send us an email at mapwestern@gmail.com

Committee on Inclusivity in Philosophy (CIP)

The purpose of the CIP, a standing committee of the Philosophy Graduate Students Association (PGSA), is to organize professional development activities targeted at issues relevant to the climate for underrepresented or marginalized groups in philosophy. These issues include, but are not limited to, concerns with race, gender, sexual orientation, sexual identity, ethnicity, creed, and ability.