Chair's Essay Prize in Philosophy

This prize is open to all full-time undergraduate students in Year 2 or higher from main campus Philosophy courses between September 6th, 2022 and April 10th, 2023. Philosophy Professors may nominate exceptional essays submitted during the 2022-23 academic year for this prize or students can nominate themselves. The Chair of Philosophy will select the recipient.

The student’s name, student number, email address and full mailing address should appear on the first page of the essay only, and all other identifiers should be removed. Please include the philosophy course number for which the essay was written for. Only one essay per student can be submitted.

Deadline: April 15, 2023

Value: $500

Submission Procedure: Essays must be submitted by April 15 to in PDF or DOC format.

The winner will be invited to an awarding ceremony in the upcoming 2023-24 academic year.

Check List

- Full- time undergraduate student, Year 2 or higher.
- Essay is from a main campus philosophy course from the 2022-23 academic year (September 6th, 2022 and April 10th, 2023).
- Student’s name, student number, email address, full mailing address, course number are on the first page of the essay only.
- Headers and footers and any other identifiers in the main text of the essay have been removed.
- Only one essay per student has been submitted.

Previous Winners

2022-23: Kseniya Dybatch, “Female-Presenting Bodies, Spatiality, and the Role of Internet Ideologies.”

2021-22: Amanda Currie, Revenge vs. Emotional Orientation: Defending the Strategic Interpretation of Nietzsche’s Slave Revolt in Genealogy I"

2020-21: Nadia Miller, Practical Nous and Akrasia in The Nicomachean Ethics

2019-20: Abbey Horn, Reproductive CRISPR: Rese​arch at the Intersection of Reproductive and Disability Rights.

2018-19: Olivia Gordon, Kant’s Erroneous Objectification of Animals by Regarding their Worth as Indistinguishable from the Worth of “Things”

2017-18: Nicole Nowoselski, The Unbecoming of the Self? An Existential Analysis of Identity and Dementia

2016-17: Ryan Howson, Refuting the Bundle Theory of Mind

2015-16: Francesco Lucia, On the Alleged Inconsistency of Weak Epistemic Egoism

2014-15: Andrew DiMarco, Celebrated Texts of Aristotle: Solving Zeno's Dichotomy

2013-14: Rachel Bath, Levels and Horizons: Preparing for the Possibility for a Phenomenology of Place

2012-13: Tucker Hunter, Improved Basis for an Old Claim: An Analysis of a Pair of Thought Experiment in Kant's Third Paralogism

2011-12: Emily Kress, Elemental Teleology in Aristotle's Rainfall Arguement