Royal Society of Canada Medals and Awards

This pre-call framework is based on previous RSC Medals & Awards competitions and is therefore subject to change as new information is provided by the RSC.

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) offers a variety of prestigious medals and awards recognizing outstanding achievements of Canadian scholars. It is the responsibility of Fellows of the RSC to nominate candidates for these honours, and they are explicitly invited to do so every year.

Note: candidates are not required to be a Fellow of the RSC.

More Information


In the 2023 competition, the following awards will be offered:

In the humanities and social sciences:

  • Pierre Chaveau Medal – For a distinguished contribution to knowledge in the humanities other than Canadian literature and Canadian history 
  • Yvan Allaire Medal (Medal + $5,000) – Awarded in recognition of an outstanding contribution in the governance of public and private organizations 
  • Sir John William Dawson Medal (interdisciplinary) – For important and sustained contributions in two domains of interest to the RSC or in interdisciplinary research 

In science and engineering:

  • Henry Marshall Tory Medal – Recognizing outstanding research in a branch of astronomy, chemistry, mathematics, physics, or an allied science, carried out mainly in the eight years preceding the date of the award 
  • Jason A. Hannah Medal – Awarded for an important publication in the history of medicine. The award is for a book published in the five years preceding its nomination. 
  • John L. Synge Award – For outstanding research in any of the branches of the mathematical sciences. Some preference is given to those whose age is not over forty in the year of the award 
  • McLaughlin Medal (Medal) – For important research of sustained excellence in any branch of medical sciences. 
  • Michael P. Païdoussis (applied mechanics) – For recognition of an individual who has made outstanding contributions to research, education and leadership in applied mechanics 
  • Miroslaw Romanowski Medal (Medal + $3,000 + lecture series) - Awarded for contributions towards the resolution of scientific aspects of environmental problems or for important improvements to the quality of an ecosystem in all aspects - terrestrial, atmospheric and aqueous - brought about by scientific means
  • Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry (Medal) - For research in chemistry (preference will be given to candidates under forty years old)
  • Rutherford Memorial Medal in Physics (Medal) - For research in physics (preference will be given to candidates under forty years old)

Nomination Process

Nominees must be Canadian citizens or have been Canadian residents for the past three years. Nominations for the awards must be made by either:

  • a Fellow of the RSC, or
  • the president of the university.

A full nomination package will consist of:

  • the nomination form
  • the letter of nomination from the primary nominator 
  • a 70-word citation
  • a 1200-word appraisal of the nominee’s work and suitability for the award
  • a CV (max. 20 pages)
  • three letters of reference (max. 750 words)
  • a biography statement for each of the letter writers (max. 250 words).

Note:  The Michael P. Païdoussis Medal has additional requirements.

The Guide for Nominations and Nomination Form can be found at:


The nomination submission deadline is March 31, 2023. 

If the nomination is to be made by the president of the university, the process of securing and acquiring the nomination letter must be managed through the Research Development office and initiated by January 30, 2023 (


Julaine Hall
Research Development Officer, Awards & Distinctions
Telephone: 519-661-2111 (ext. 87970)