Molson Prizes - 2024

The Canada Council for the Arts

The Canada Council for the Arts is Canada’s public arts funder, with a mandate to foster and promote the study and enjoyment of, and the production of works in, the arts.

Canada Council for the Arts

Presented by the Canada Council for the Arts, two Molson Prizes of $50,000 each are awarded annually to encourage continuing contributions to Canada's cultural and intellectual heritage. One is given in the arts, and one in the social sciences or humanities.

Applications and nominations from culturally diverse, persons who are deaf or have other forms of disability and official language minority artists, groups and organizations are encouraged.

More information about the Molson Prize


Nominees must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents, but do not need to be residing in Canada. They must have made a substantial and distinguished contribution over a significant period. Nominees should still be active and productive scholars.

Nomination Process

A complete nomination package will consist of:

  • The nomination form
  • A letter of nomination containing original signature (2 pages) that includes a brief description of the nature of the nominee’s distinguished contributions to their field, including why they should be considered for the prize 
  • A one-page biography, summarizing education, achievements, professional activities, and honours or awards received
  • Nominee's CV (10 pages)
  • Three original signed letters of support from experts in the field
  • A maximum of three support items (max 4 pages each) from sources other than the nominee; newspaper or magazine articles, press releases, etc.

Guidelines and nomination forms


Nominations will be evaluated based the following weighted criteria:

Merit (50%)

  • the quality of the candidate’s overall career achievements and where appropriate, the international stature of the candidate

Impact (50%)

  • the scope of the candidate’s contributions to the cultural or intellectual heritage of Canada, taking into account the context of their artistic discipline or academic field of study
  • evidence of the candidate’s outstanding commitment, creativity and efforts to share research and knowledge beyond the artistic or academic community
  • influence of the candidate’s work
  • the candidate’s contributions towards a more equitable, diverse, and inclusive society


Submit your nomination package as one email to .


Internal Notice of Intent (NOI) to Nominate: August 17, 2023
Email if you wish to have Western Research support and coordination of your application

The final submission deadline for the 2024 Molson Prizes: October 5, 2023.


Potential nominators and nominees are encouraged to contact Research Awards & Distinctions at regarding Western Research support and coordination of your nomination.