Mark BernardsWestern Science

Lab Alumni

Post Doctoral Fellows, Visiting Scientists & Technicians

Brendan Walshe-Rousell, Postdoctoral Fellow, Metabolomics in Plant-Mite Interaction
Anica Bjelica, MSc, Technician & Research Assistant
Dr. Carol Beaulieu, Visiting Scientist (U. Sherbrooke), Suberin Degradation by Streptomyces scabi
Dr. Yanni Zhang, Visiting Scientist (Shaanxi Normal University), ABA Analysis
Dr. Leon Kurepin, Postdoctoral Fellow, Phytohormone Analysis
Dr. Abdullah Makhzoum, Postdoctoral Fellow, Promoter functional analysis and genetic engineering of suberin biosynthesis genes.
Dr. Jane Geisler-Lee Helen Battle Post Doctoral Fellow (co-supervised by Dr. Denis P. Maxwell)

PhD Students

Trish Tully (2019) :Soybean Fatty Acid ω-Hydroxylases"
Katie Woolfson (2018) "Suberin Biosynthesis and Deposition in the Wound-Healing Potato (Solanum tuberosum L.) Tuber Model"
Meg Haggitt (2016) "Role of FAωH1 and ABA in Potato Suberin Formation"
Dimitre Ivanov (2015) "Ginsenosides, Glycosidases and the Ginseng-Pythium Interaction"
Chris Meyer (2010) “Suberin biosynthesis in roots of Iris germanica” (joint-supervision with Dr. Carol Peterson, Biology, U. Waterloo)
Suqin Shao (2006) “Soybean Seed Coat Cutin”
Wei-Li Yang (2006) “Metabolite Profiling of Wound Healing Potato Tubers”
Raymond Thomas (2006) “Soybean Root Suberin and Disease Tolerance”
Roberto Nicol (2003) “The Allelopathy of Ginsenosides”
Fawzi Razem (2003) “Production of Hydrogen Peroxide During Wound-Induced Suberization in Potato”
Mirwais Qaderi (2002) “Pre- and Post-Dispersal Factors Affecting Cypsela Dormancy in Scotch Thistle (Onopordum acanthium)” (co-supervised by Dr. Paul B. Cavers)

MSc Students

Pooja Sharma (2012)“Characterization of Soybean Hairy Roots”
Jessica Koteles (2012) “Soybean Omega hydroxylases”
Daniel Lee (2010) “Promotor analysis of an w-hydroxylase (CYP86A) associated with suberization in potato tubers”
Stephanie Anderson (2010) “Characterization of a p-coumaroyltyramine-3-hydroxylase (CYP98X) associated with suberization in potato tubers”
Andreea Neculai (2008) “Ginseoside-specific glycosidases from Pythium irregulare
Bolaji Adeniji (2008) “The role of organic acids in Cd tolerance in wheat” (joint-supervision with Dr. Sheila Macfie, Biology, UWO)
Lina Yousef (2005) “Biotransformation of Ginsenosides by Pathogens of Ginseng”
Di Shao (2004) “Biologically Active Triterpenoids from Tripterygium wilfordii
Clayton Crawley (2004)“Characterization of Six Prephenate Dehydratase-Like Genes in Arabidopsis thaliana (co-supervised by Susanne Kohalmi, Biology, UWO)
Kristen Summerhurst (2002) “Isoform Specific Antibodies for Potato Peroxidases”
Xiaolong Yang (2000) “An Antimicrobial Compound from Impatiens balsamina

Undergraduate Students

Cameron Coatsworth


Marie Alejandra Rey Rincon
Talal Abdali,
Alexandra Kachura
Min Kim
Jorge Georgakopolous
Trish Tully
Muna Basahi
Natalie Westwood
Aviroop Biswas
Pooja Sharma
Naghmeh Alizadeh
Dimitre Ivanov
Dan Klaas
Daniel Lee
Ashley Summerfield
Matt Welsh
Wahid Pabani
Zahida Meghji
Louis Hui
Beatrix Czikkel
Laura Kennedy
Chelsea Simpson
Marie Davey
Rupa Murthi
Mazen Al-Beldawi
Ryan Dunne
Lina Yousef
Sarah Johnston
Mike Gardner
Kelly Belgrave
Jeff Cowger
Ronny Priefer (UNBC)
Dena Hutchison (UNBC)
Anita Sabatino (UNBC)
David Llewellyn (UNBC)
Warren Fleming (UNBC)