Faculty Members

archibald

Dr. Lisa Archibald

larchiba@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Evidence-Based Practice for Clinicians; Fluency Disorders Practicum in Speech; Language Pathology.


bruhn de garavito

Dr. Joyce Bruhn de Garavito

joycebg@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Second Language Acquisition; Syntax; Spanish.


creider

Dr. Chet Creider

creider@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Morphology; Syntax; African Language.


faez

Dr. Farahna Faez

ffaez@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Applied Linguistics; Second Language Education.


granadilo

Dr. Tania Granadilo

tgranadi@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: endangered languages, language documentation and description, language revitalization, language shift and maintenance, language ideologies, language policy, discourse, storytelling, verbal art, linguistic typology, writing systems, phonology, morphosyntax, sociolinguistics, historical linguistics, language and culture, metaphors, bi/multilingualism, language acquisition, ethnoclassification.


heap

Dr. David Heap

djheap@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Romance Linguistics; Morphology; Phonology; Dialectology.


joanisse

Dr. Marc Joanisse

marcj@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Cognition and Perception.


jurgensen

Dr. Helmut Jürgensen

hjj@csd.uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Theories of formal languages, automata, codes and information transmission systems, and their applications.


kawai

Dr. Michiya Kawai

mkawai@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Generative linguistics; Syntax theory; Foreign language pedagogy; Language and culture.


lamarche

Dr. Jacques Lamarche

lamarche@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Semantics; Syntax; French Linguistics.


mcrae

Dr. Ken McRae

kenm@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Cognition and Perception

 


mercer

Dr. Rob Mercer

mercer@csd.uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Artificial intelligence; Computational linguistics; Nonmonotonic logics.


paul

Dr. Ileana Paul

ileana@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Syntax; Syntax-semantics interface; Malagasy and Austronesian languages.


pennesi

Dr. Karen Pennesi

pennesi@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Linguistic Anthropology.


perpinan

Dr. Silvia Perpinan

sperpina@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Hispanic Linguistics; Second Language Acquisition; Language Contact and Language Change; Language Maintenance and Language Loss; Heritage Languages; Catalan


poire

Dr. François Poiré

fpoire@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Phonology; Prosody; Acoustic Phonetics; French Linguistic.


rafat

Dr. Yasaman Rafat

yrafat@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: L2 phonology; L2 Learning; Applied Linguistics; Language variation; Farsi and Spanish.


rubin

Dr. Victoria Rubin

vrubin@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Natural Language Processing (NLP) and Information Retrieval.


skarakis doyle

Dr. Elizabeth Skarakis-Doyle

eskaraki@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Language acquisition in typical and atypical children; Pragmatics of language; Cognitive and social correlates of language; Interdisciplinary research based on the Internantional Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF)


staiton

Dr. Robert Stainton

rstainto@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Clinical and Theoretical Pragmatics; Semantics; Philosophy of Language.


taylor

Dr. Shelley Taylor

taylor@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Bilingualism; Minority Languages; L2 Acquisition; Language Pedagogy.


tennant

Dr. Jeff Tennant

jtennant@uwo.ca
Website

Area of expertise: Phonetics; Sociolinguistics; North American French; 2nd Language Teaching and Learning.

Western provides the best student experience among Canada's leading research-intensive universities.