Austronesian Formal Linguistics Association

In 1994, a small group of Austronesianists met at the University of Toronto. Their purpose was to create an organisation that promotes the study of Austronesian languages from a formal perspective. While conferences dedicated solely to Austronesian languages existed at the time, none were focused primarily on formal approaches to the study of this language family. That pioneering group of linguists consisted of Anna Maclachlan, Diane Massam, Richard McGinn, Barry Miller and Lisa Travis. The audience at what was to be the first annual meeting of AFLA was made up of students and faculty at the University of Toronto.

It was during that meeting that the name for the conference was chosen. It had initially been proposed that the conference be called GALA, the Generative Austronesian Linguistics Association. However, another conference already bears that name. AGLA was too ugly, so it was decided that the conference be called AFLA. This has proven to be very fitting choice given that AFLA serves as a forum for research couched in a variety of formal approaches. From that initial meeting in 1994 onwards, each meeting has furthered the unwritten mandate of AFLA to encourage the formal study of Austronesian languages, especially work by speaker-linguists and by junior scholars.

Annual Meetings

2018 Institute of Linguistics, Academia Sinica in Taipei, Taiwan (AFLA XXV)

2017 University of Washington (AFLA XXIV) (Conference Program)

2016 Tokyo University of Foreign Studies (AFLA XXIII)

2015 McGill University (AFLA XXII)

2014 University of Hawai'i at Mānoa (AFLA XXI)

2013 University of Texas at Arlington (AFLA XX) (Conference Program)

2012 Institute of Linguistics, Academia Sinica & Linguistic Society of Taiwan (AFLA XIX)

2011 Harvard University (AFLA XVIII)

2010 Stony Brook University, New York (AFLA XVII)

2009 University of California, Santa Cruz (AFLA XVI)

2008 University of Sydney (AFLA XV)

2007 McGill University (AFLA XIV) (Conference Program)

2006 National Tsing Hua University and Academia Sinica (AFLA XIII) (Conference Program)

2005 University of California at Los Angeles (AFLA XII)

2004 Zentrum fur Allgemeine Sprachwissenschaft, Typologie und Universalienforschung (AFLA XI)

2003 University of Hawai'i at Mānoa (AFLA X) (Conference Program)

2002 Cornell University (AFLA IX) (Conference Program)

2001 Massachusetts Institute of Technology (AFLA VIII) (Conference Program)

2000 Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (AFLA VII) (Conference Program)

1999 University of Toronto (AFLA VI) (Conference Program)

1998 University of Hawai'i at Manoa (AFLA V) (Conference Program)

1997 University of California at Los Angeles (AFLA IV) (Conference Program)

1996 University of California at Los Angeles (AFLA III) (Conference Program)

1995 McGill University (AFLA II) (Conference Program)

1994 University of Toronto (AFLA I)