Senate Agenda - EXHIBIT II - April 14, 2000



1. Acting Chancellor

The UWO Act states: "In the absence of both the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor ... the Chancellor's duties shall be performed by a member of the Faculty appointed by the Senate for that purpose."

Neither Chancellor Peter Godsoe nor Vice-Chancellor Paul Davenport is available to preside over the Medicine & Dentistry Convocation to take place on May 12, 2000.

Required: One member of Faculty to serve as Chancellor at the Medicine & Dentistry Convocation, May 12, 2000.

Nominee: Bill Bridger

2. Senate Committee on Housing Policy (SCOHP)

Composition: Includes six persons elected by the Senate, at least two of whom are members of Senate, including: one Dean, one member of faculty, three students, and one representative of the general community.

Current Senate-Elected Members:

Retiring April 30, 2000: Angelo Belcastro (S - Dean), Amy Malowitz (Student), Dan Phillipson (Student), Eli Singer (Student)

Continuing to April 30, 2001: Roland Haines (Faculty), Gary Weese (General Community)

Required: Four persons: three students and one Dean; at least two of whom are members of Senate. (Terms: students, 1 year; faculty/gen. com. rep, 2 years).


Marc Chernoff (S)(Student)
Michael Scott (Student)
Chris Sinal (S)(Student)
Angelo Belcastro (Dean/HS)

3. Senate Grievance Committee

Composition: The panel from which members are selected by lot is composed of nine tenured members of the faculty of the constituent University, elected by Senate. At least one member of this panel but not more than two shall be from each of the Faculties of Arts, Science, Social Science and Medicine & Dentistry, and not more than one shall be from any other Faculty.


Terms to April 30, 2000: Jonathan Hore (M&D), Heather Laschinger (HS), Turab Lookman (Sci.)

Terms to April 30, 2001: Regna Darnell (Soc. Sci.) (term to April 30, 2001) [Alt. Gloria Leckie)(IMS) (term to June 30, 2000), Diane Fahselt (Sci.), Tom Tausky (Arts)

Terms to April 30, 2002:, Ingrid Connidis (Soc.Sci.), Stan Dunn (M&D), Vlad Tumanov (Arts)

Required: Three members of the faculty of the constituent University with tenure*

* Pursuant to Senate resolution, the following are also eligible for election:

members of Faculty in the Faculty of Medicine (& Dentistry) with University Full Academic (UFA) appointments [S.88-43]; and

Clinical Academic members of the academic staff of the University appointed under Conditions of Appointment: Physicians Appointed in Clinical Departments and Clinical Divisions of Basic Science Departments (1999) who hold Continuing Appointments in the Senate Stream [S.99-64]

Of these, none may be from the Faculties of Arts or Social Science and not more than one may be from any other Faculty (Terms May 1, 2000 - April 30, 2003).


Jonathan Hore (M&D)
Heather Laschinger (HS)
Turab Lookman (Sci.)

4. Coordinating Committee for the Office of the Ombudsperson

Composition: Includes one non-student member appointed by the Senate for a two-year term.

Incumbent: Peter Auksi

Required: One person who is not a student of the University (term May 1, 2000, to April 30, 2002).

Nominee: Martin Westmacott (Soc.Sci.)

5. McIntosh Gallery Committee

Composition: Includes two members appointed by Senate.

Current Senate-appointed Members:

Term to May 2000: Marilyn Kertoy
Term to May 2001: Richard Green

Required: Two persons to serve on the McIntosh Gallery Committee, one for a one-year term to replace R. Green who has resigned (to May 2001) and one for a two-year term (to May 2002).


Marilyn Kertoy (HS) (term to May 2001)
Kimboll Moodie (Arts) (term July 1, 2000 to May 2002)

6. Senate Review Board Academic (SRBA)

Composition: Includes a Chair and twenty-three voting members; thirteen members of faculty and ten students (six undergraduates and four graduates).

Current Student Members:

Continuing to November 30, 2000:

Undergraduates: J. Algate, P. Hong, M. Kissel, M. Lawless, M. Parker, C. Sinal.

Graduates: S. Mangos, M. McKenzie, R. Gowing, A. Schulte-Hostedde

Required: Three students: one undergraduate student to replace J. Algate who has resigned (term May to November 2000), one undergraduate to serve as an alternate to P. Hong who has requested a leave of absence (May 1 to September 1, 2000) and graduate student to serve as an alternate to A. Schulte-Hostedde who has requested a leave of absence (term April 22 to September 1, 2000).


Fawzi Irani (undergrad. - Term May 1 to September 1, 2000)
Jeff Sutton (undergrad. - Term May 1 to November 2000)
_______ (grad. - Term April 22 to September 1, 2000)[Nomination to be presented at Senate]

7. Operations/Agenda Committee (OAC)

Composition: Nine current members of Senate, at least one of whom shall be a student. The Vice-Chair of Senate is the Chair ex officio of this Committee.

Current Composition:

Retiring in November 2000: C. Callaghan (Admin. Staff), T. Carmichael (Arts), J. Nicholas (Arts), K. Okruhlik (Arts), D. Rosner (Soc. Sci.), D. Small (Student).

Continuing to November 2001: K. McQuillan (Soc.Sci.), E. Skarakis-Doyle (HS), M. Westmacott (Soc.Sci)[Alt. G. Cherian (M&D)]

Required: One student Senator to complete the term of D. Small who has resigned [term from May 1 to November 2000]

Nominee: Michael Curry

8. Selection Committee - Senior Director, Information Technology Services

In accordance with Section U. of Appointments Procedures, a selection committee for Senior Director, Information Technology Services shall consist of:

(a) the Provost & Vice-President (Academic), who shall be Chair
(b) the Vice-President (Administration)
(c) the Vice-President (Research)
(d) the Chair of the Senate Committee on Information Technology and Services
(e) four persons elected by Senate

The following were elected by Senate at the meeting of January 28, 2000: Ruban Chelladurai (Director, IPB), Roy Eagleson (Engg.Sci.), Joyce Garnett (Director- Libraries) and Gloria Leckie (IMS).

Required: one person elected by Senate to replace G. Leckie who has resigned.

Nominee: Rod Beaujot (Soc.Sci.)


Results of Mail Ballots

At its March 24, 2000, meeting, additional nominations were made for three of the election items in the Report of the Nominating Committee. The results of the election are:

Selection Committee for the Associate Vice-President (Research)
The following members were elected for the Selection Committee for the Associate Vice-President (Research): Fred Longstaffe, Kevin McQuillan, and Bhagi Singh.

Operations/Agenda Committee
Tom Carmichael was elected to complete the term of Dan Jorgensen on the Operations/Agenda Committee [to November 2000]

Senate Committee on Academic Policy and Admissions
Jonathan Hore was elected to complete the term of Dan Jorgensen who has resigned (term to December 31, 2001)