Senate Agenda - EXHIBIT II - April 16, 1999



1. Senate Grievance Committee

Composition: The panel from which members are selected by lot is composed of nine tenured members of the faculty of the constituent University, elected by Senate. At least one member of this panel but not more than two shall be from each of the Faculties of Arts, Science, Social Science and Medicine & Dentistry, and not more than one shall be from any other Faculty.


Terms to April 30, 1999: Ingrid Connidis (Soc.Sci.), Stan Dunn (M&D), Vladimir Tumanov (Arts)

Terms to April 30, 2000: John Hore (M&D), Heather Laschinger (HS), Turab Lookman (Sci.)

Terms to April 30, 2001: Regna Darnell (Soc. Sci.), Diane Fahselt (Sci.), Tom Tausky (Arts)

Required: Three members of the faculty of the constituent University with tenure*

* Pursuant to Senate resolution, the following are also eligible for election:

members of Faculty in the Faculty of Medicine (& Dentistry) with University Full Academic (UFA) appointments [S.88-43]; and

Clinical Academic members of the academic staff of the University appointed under Conditions of Appointment: Physicians Appointed in Clinical Departments and Clinical Divisions of Basic Science Departments (1999) who hold Continuing Appointments in the Senate Stream [March 19,1999]

Of these, none may be from the Faculty of Science and not more than one may be from any other Faculty. (Terms May 1, 1999 - April 30, 2002)


Ingrid Connidis (Soc.Sci.)
Stan Dunn (M&D)
Vladimir Tumanov (Arts)

Appointment of an Alternate:

Pursuant to Senate By-Law VI.13a) ... Upon the granting of a Leave of Absence, the Nominating Committee shall appoint a temporary replacement and report its actions to the Senate.

Paul Cavers (Sci.) will serve as Alternate on the Senate Grievance Committee for Turab Lookman who is on leave (term to June 30, 1999).

2. McIntosh Gallery Committee

Composition: Includes two members appointed by Senate.

Current Senate-appointed Members:

Term to May 1999: A.M.J. (Jack) Hyatt

Term to May 2000: Minette Gaudet

Required: Two people to serve on the McIntosh Gallery Committee, one for a two year term (to May 2001) and one to complete the term of M. Gaudet who has resigned (term from July 1, 1999, to May 2000).


Richard Green (Arts)(term to May 2001)
Marilyn Kertoy (HS) (term to May 2000)

3. Senate Committee on Housing Policy (SCOHP)

Composition: Includes six persons elected by the Senate, at least two of whom are members of Senate, including: one Dean, one member of faculty, three students, and one representative of the general community.

Current Senate-Elected Members:

Retiring April 30, 1999: Peter Hill (student), Sukhbir Singh (student), Sze Jack Tan (student), Susan Bentley (gen. community), Roland Haines (faculty)

Continuing to April 30, 2000: Angelo Belcastro (S - Dean)

Required: Five persons: three students, one member of faculty and one representative of the general community, at least one of whom is member of Senate. (Terms: students, 1 year; faculty/gen. com. rep, 2 years).


_______________ (Student) [Nomination to be presented at the Senate Meeting]
_______________ (Student) [Nomination to be presented at the Senate Meeting]
_______________ (Student) [Nomination to be presented at the Senate Meeting]
Roland Haines (Sci.)(Faculty)
Gary Weese (Gen. Comm.)

4. Coordinating Committee for the Office of the Ombudsperson

Composition: Includes one non-student member appointed by the Senate for a two-year term.

Incumbent: Peter Auksi

Required: One person who is not a student of the University (term May 1, 1999, to April 30, 2001).

Nominee: Peter Auksi