

Western's Awards for Excellence in Teaching have recognized outstanding contributions by faculty to the academic development of students since 1980-81. Up to six awards may be given out annually in the following three categories: the Edward G. Pleva Award for Excellence in Teaching, the Angela Armitt Award for Excellence in Teaching by Part-Time Faculty and the Marilyn Robinson Award for Excellence in Teaching. In addition, one award may be given annually in the Western Award for Innovations in Technology-Enhanced Teaching category.

Winners receive a commemorative scroll, and recipients of the Pleva, Armitt, and Innovations in Technology-Enhanced Teaching awards also receive an inscribed gold medal. Recipients of the Marilyn Robinson award receive a framed reproduction of an artist, selected by the recipient in consultation with the Centre for Teaching and Learning. Finally, names of award recipients are added to the award recipients' list on the Centre for Teaching and Learning's website:

https://teaching.uwo.ca/awardsdossiers/awards/award winners.html

For further information on the Senate Committee on University Teaching Awards (SUTA) regulations, the guidelines for the preparation of dossiers, and the evaluation criteria for these awards, please visit <a href="http://www.uwo.ca/univsec/pdf/senate/sutaregs.pdf">http://www.uwo.ca/univsec/pdf/senate/sutaregs.pdf</a>.

All academic areas are encouraged to consider suitable nominees for these prestigious awards.

In defining excellence, please consider pedagogy that prioritizes equity, diversity, inclusion, and decolonization in asking us to consider how we can help *all* students succeed.

Further information may be obtained by contacting Caroline Whippey, Associate University Secretary (<a href="mailto:caroline.whippey@uwo.ca">caroline.whippey@uwo.ca</a>). Electronic dossiers of previous award recipients are available for viewing on OWL by sending a request to Caroline Whippey.

Two additional awards are available from the Office of the Vice-Provost (Academic Programs): the Vice-Provost's Award for Excellence in Collaborative Teaching and the Vice-Provost's Award for Excellence in Online Teaching. The first award recognizes instructors whose exemplary collaborations in university teaching enhance student learning; the second award is designed to recognize and reward the efforts of instructors who have demonstrated outstanding online teaching through exemplary online course design. For more information and nomination guidelines, please visit the Centre for Teaching and Learning's website at:

https://teaching.uwo.ca/awardsdossiers/awards/teachingexcellenceawards.html.

Nominations for <u>ALL</u> awards must be submitted electronically as a single PDF file on or before **January 15, 2025**.

## **Submission process:**

- Completed nomination dossiers for the Edward G. Pleva Award for Excellence in Teaching, the Angela Armitt Award for Excellence in Teaching by Part-Time Faculty, the Marilyn Robinson Award for Excellence in Teaching, and the Western Award for Innovations in Technology-Enhanced Teaching must be submitted to teaching.awards@uwo.ca.
- Completed nomination dossiers for the Vice-Provost's Award for Excellence in Collaborative Teaching and the Vice-Provost's Award for Excellence in Online Teaching must be submitted to the Office of the Vice-Provost (Academic Programs). Please email Alicia Kemp, Administrative Coordinator, Office of the Vice-Provost (Academic Programs) at ahitchc2@uwo.ca.

For online or blended course design, please acknowledge instructional design or course support, if relevant.