Board of Governors, APPENDIX V, November 30, 2000



1. Campus & Community Affairs Committee - Meeting Schedule for 2001

Recommended: That the Board of Governors approve the following meeting schedule for the Campus & Community Affairs Committee for 2001:

(All meetings begin at 5:00 p.m.)

2. Property & Finance Committee - Schedule Change, May 2001

Recommended: That the May 2001 meeting of the Property & Finance Committee be held on May 14 (not on May 7 as earlier scheduled).

Since P&F will meet on April 30th to consider the budget, it is undesirable to hold another meeting only one week later, on May 7th. Note that in any case, if there is insufficient business for the May P&F meeting, it will be cancelled.


1. Board Members

Dr. Jane Rylett, a Professor in the Department of Physiology, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry, was recently elected by the faculty-at-large to serve on the Board of Governors from November 15, 2000 - November 14, 2004. She is a graduate of UWO, with further training at the University of London (England) and the Max-Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry (Germany). She recently completed two terms as Director of the Graduate Program in Neuroscience, and is currently Assistant Chair of the Department of Physiology.

Dr. Kevin McQuillan, Professor and Chair of the Department of Sociology, Faculty of Social Science, has been elected to a two-year term (November 15, 2000 - November 14, 2002). He completes the term of H.G. Murray who recently resigned. Dr. McQuillan joined UWO in 1977. He has served three terms on Senate and has experience on a wide range of Senate Committees. He is currently the Chair of the Senate Committee on University Planning (SCUP) and, as such, serves as an Observer on the Property and Finance Committee.

Ms. Melissa Parker, enrolled in Year III of the MD program, has been elected to the Board for a two-year term (November 15, 2000 - November 14, 2002). Ms. Parker has served on Senate for two years and is the current Chair of the Student Senate Caucus. She was the Meds 2002 Social Convenor in 1998-99, and served as a USC representative (1999-00). She is currently a National Officer of Research Exchange, representing Canada to the International Federation of Medical Students (2000-2001).

Ms. Susan Grindrod, Associate Vice-President (Housing and Ancillary Operations), was re-elected to the Board, by acclamation, by the administrative staff of the University for a further four-year term ending November 14, 2004.

2. New Format for Board Meetings [BG.00-147]

At the September 28, 2000, meeting, the Board implemented the new format for Board meetings, as approved on June 28. Based on that experience, the following minor adjustments will be made.

3. Strategic Planning Task Force

At its meeting on September 28, the Board of Governors delegated to the Senior Operations Committee, the responsibility for naming the staff member to the Strategic Planning Task Force on recommendation of the Presidents of the non-faculty employee groups.

The Senior Operations Committee, at its meeting of October 23, 2000, ratified the appointment of Sue Desmond to the Strategic Planning Task Force, as recommended by the Presidents of the non-faculty employee groups. Sue Desmond is the President of the UWO Staff Association.

4. London Museum of Archaeology

On behalf of the Board of Governors, the Senior Operations Committee has appointed Dr. Ted Hewitt [Associate Dean (Student Affairs), Faculty of Social Science, UWO] and Mr. John Winston [Director of Intergovernment Relations for the City of London] as Members of the London Museum of Archaeology, as recommended by the Directors of the Museum. Dr. Bob Pearce, in his capacity as Acting Director of the LMA, is an ex officio Member, and Mr. Jim Wright has resigned. As a result of these changes, the current Members/Directors of the London Museum of Archaeology are:

Bill Bridger ex officio for Provost & Vice-President (Academic)

Peter Neary ex officio Dean of Social Science

Bob Pearce ex officio Director of the Museum (Acting)

(Members/Directors appointed by the UWO Board on recommendation of the Directors of the Museum)

Cathy Brown

Charles Carmichael

Janet Collins

Peter Desbarats

Christopher Ellis

Jean Hewitt

Ted Hewitt

Miggsy Lawson (Honorary Chairman)

Tom Lawson

Ian McIntosh

Don McLeod

5. Standing Committee on Campus Recreation

The membership of Tom Vine on the Standing Committee on Campus Recreation has been extended from February 2001 to November 2001.