Western University
sample image



The Western University Division of Plastic Surgery provides training certified by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada to graduates of accredited medical schools. The program was established by the late Dr. Robert McFarlane and the current Director of training programs is Dr. Arjang Yazdani. Post-residency training is offered by means of Fellowships in Craniofacial Surgery, Hand/Microsurgery and General Reconstructive Plastic Surgery.

The Coordinator for Undergraduate Medical Education is Dr. Chris Scilley. This program is an integral part of the undergraduate medical curriculum of the Department of Surgery at the Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry of Western University. Visiting undergraduate medical students from accredited Medical Schools can do electives in the various subspecialties of the Division.

Research training is coordinated through the laboratories associated with the Division and undergraduate, as well as graduate research training at the MSc and PhD level is provided. Faculty members have cross-appointments to the Departments of Medical Biophysics, Physiology and Pharmacology, and Biochemistry.