Congratulations to this Year's Vanier Scholars from the Western Science Community

The Faculty of Science is proud to congratulate this year's Vanier Award winners from the Faculty of Science!

Christy Caudill

Christy Caudill is from the Department of Earth Sciences and her award-winning proposal is on comparative planetology. She studies Martian soil production and past environments on Mars as seen through impact craters.

Leanne Grieves

Leanne Grieves is from the Department of Biology and her award-winning proposal is on evolution and ecology of songbirds. She studies parasitism, the complex diversity, and the role smell plays in mate choice of songbirds.

The Vanier Scholarship was created to strengthen Canada's ability to attract and retain world-class doctoral students and establish Canada as a global centre of excellence in research and higher learning. Vanier Scholars demonstrate leadership skills and a high standard of scholarly achievement in graduate studies.

More Information

Vanier Scholarship Website