Medals and Awards from the Royal Society of Canada – 2018

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) offers a variety of prestigious medals and awards recognizing outstanding achievements of Canadian researchers. It is a responsibility of Fellows of the RSC to nominate candidates for these honours, and they are explicitly invited to do so every year. In 2018, the following awards will be offered:

In the humanities and social sciences:

  • Innis-Gérin Medal: Awarded for a distinguished and sustained contribution to the literature of the social sciences including human geography and social psychology.
  • Kitty Newman Award: Awarded to an outstanding emerging Canadian scholar in the field of philosophy. The award is given for excellence in the field, which is broadly understood to include philosophy of culture, religion, law, ethics, and logic, or any other branch of philosophy deemed appropriate by the committee
  • Lorne Pierce Medal: The medal is awarded for an achievement of special significance and conspicuous merit in imaginative or critical literature written in either English or French (critical literature dealing with Canadian subjects has priority over critical literature of equal merit that does not deal with Canadian subjects). 
  • J.B. Tyrrell Historical Medal: The medal is awarded for outstanding work in the history of Canada.
  • Ursula Franklin Award in Gender Studies: Awarded to recognize significant contributions by a Canadian scholar in the humanities and social sciences to furthering our understanding of issues concerning gender.
  • Yvan Allaire Medal (Medal + $5,000) - For outstanding research in Governance.

In science and engineering:

  • Bancroft Award (Diploma) - Awarded for publication, instruction, and research in the earth sciences that have conspicuously contributed to public understanding and appreciation of the subject.
  • Flavelle Medal: The medal is awarded for an outstanding contribution to biological science during the preceding ten years, or for significant additions to a previous outstanding contribution to biological science.
  • John L. Synge Award: Given for outstanding research in any of the branches of the mathematical sciences. In cases where there are two or more strong candidates, some preference is given to those whose age is not over forty in the year of the award.
  • McLaughlin Medal: For distinguished achievement in any branch of medical science in Canada.
  • Miroslaw Romanowski Medal: For significant contributions to the resolution of scientific aspects of environmental problems or for important improvements to the quality of an ecosystem in all aspects - terrestrial, atmospheric and aqueous - brought about by scientific means.
  • Rutherford Memorial Medals: For outstanding research in physics and chemistry. Some preference is given to any candidates not over the age of forty
  • Willet G. Miller Medal: Offered for outstanding research in the solid earth sciences and a second in the ocean and atmospheric sciences.

Nomination Process

Nominees must be Canadian citizens or have been Canadian residents for the past three years. Nominations for the awards must be made by either:

  • a Fellow of the RSC, plus two co-nominators; or
  • the president of the university, plus two co-nominators.

A full nomination package will consist of:

  • the nomination form
  • the letters of nomination from the primary nominator and co-nominators
  • a 70-word citation
  • a 1200-word appraisal of the nominee’s work and suitability for the award
  • a CV (max. 20 pages)
  • three letters of reference.
  • a biography statement for each of the three letter writers


The nomination submission deadline is March 1, 2018. If the nomination is to be made by the president of the university, the process of securing and acquiring the nomination letter must be managed through the Research Development office and initiated by February 1, 2017.


Interested parties are encouraged to consult with Julaine Hall ( at Research Development & Services regarding these medals and awards and the nomination process.

More information can be found at: