

The Hellmuth Prizes for Achievement in Research

Research in the academic setting - the discovery and integration of new knowledge, the development of new theory and concepts, and the creative work of our artists - is one of the defining hallmarks of a university. Western University has many faculty members with outstanding international reputations for their contributions in research. Often, these kinds of contributions are not fully appreciated outside of the apparent boundaries of the discipline.

The Hellmuth Prize for Achievement in Research provides a way for all members of the Western community to appreciate and celebrate research achievement of our most distinguished faculty members.

There are two such prizes offered annually, one in the area broadly defined as the natural sciences and engineering (research that would be supported by NSERC) and one in the social sciences and humanities (research that would in general fall under the mandate of SSHRC). There are roughly equal numbers of faculty members in each eligible group.

The Hellmuth Prize is named in honour of Bishop Isaac Hellmuth (1817-1901), who can be regarded as the founder of The University of Western Ontario. Working with Bishop Benjamin Cronyn, Hellmuth founded Huron College in 1863, and his personal foresight and dedication led to the granting of the charter for "The Western University of London, Ontario" in 1878. Hellmuth later served as Western's first Chancellor (1878-84). The Hellmuth Prize, consisting of a plaque and a \$1500 cash award, will be presented at a public ceremony in the spring, with each winner making a short address. The Hellmuth Prize Winners are introduced at the Spring Convocation of the Faculty of Graduate Studies.

Terms of Reference (revised November, 2020)

The Hellmuth Prize is intended to recognize achievement over a substantial body of work. There are no restrictions as to age or rank, but the recipient will be currently active in research or scholarly work.

Each Faculty may submit no more than one candidate for each Prize. The Faculty may develop internal procedures for the selection of its nominee(s). While unsuccessful nominations are not automatically considered in subsequent years, the selection committee may specifically invite resubmission of certain nominations.

The awards will be adjudicated by a selection committee chaired by the Vice-President (Research). The committee will have appropriate balance to enable adjudication across broad research disciplines **and will consist of six members**, **selected for a staggered 3-year term.** The Society of Graduate Students will be invited to name one member, and the Vice-President (Research) will invite one member of the external community to join the committee.

Past Prize Winners:

1997	Alan Davenport	Ian Steele
1777	Faculty of Engineering	Faculty of Social Science
1998	William Fyfe	Tom Lennon
1770	Faculty of Science	Faculty of Arts & Humanities
1999	Michael Bancroft	David Laidler
1,,,,	Faculty of Science	Faculty of Social Science
2000	Richard Puddephatt	Regna Darnell
2000	Faculty of Science	Faculty of Social Science
2001	Michael Locke	Tilottama Rajan
2001	Faculty of Science	Faculty of Arts & Humanities
2002	Grant McFadden	Angela Esterhammer
	Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry	Faculty of Arts & Humanities
2003	Peter Norton	Marilyn Randall
	Faculty of Science	Faculty of Arts & Humanities
2004	Robert Hegele	David Bentley
	Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry	Faculty of Arts & Humanities
2005	Ian Mitchell	Richard Vernon
	Faculty of Science	Faculty of Social Science
2006	Mel Goodale	Joy Parr
	Faculty of Social Science and Schulich School of	Faculty of Information and Media Studies
	Medicine & Dentistry	
2007	Rajni Patel	William Fisher
	Faculty of Engineering	Faculty of Social Science
2008	Aaron Fenster	Patrick Mahon
	Robarts Research Institute	Faculty of Arts & Humanities
	Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry	
2009	Brian Feagan	John Whalley
	Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry	Faculty of Social Science
2010	Gregor Reid, Schulich School of Medicine &	Heather Laschinger
	Dentistry	Faculty of Health Sciences
2011	Ann Chambers	Michael Groden
	Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry	Faculty of Arts & Humanities
2012	Terry Peters	John Meyer
	Robarts Research Institute	Faculty of Social Science
	Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry	
2013	Adrian Owen	Paul Beamish
	Faculty of Social Science and Schulich School of	Ivey Business School
	Medicine & Dentistry	
2014	Stewart Harris	Charles Weijer
	Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry	Faculty of Arts & Humanities and Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry
2015	Shiva Singh	Bob Young
	Faculty of Science	Faculty of Social Science
2016	Jesse Zhu	John Leonard
	Faculty of Engineering	Faculty of Arts & Humanities
2017	Tsun-Kong (TK) Sham	Kathryn Brush
	Faculty of Science	Faculty of Arts & Humanities
2018	Gail Atkinson	Maya Shatzmiller
	Faculty of Science	Faculty of Social Science

2019	Xueliang (Andy) Sun	Peter Jaffe
	Faculty of Engineering	Faculty of Education
2020	Jeremy McNeil	Cheryl Forchuk
	Faculty of Science	Faculty of Health Sciences