#### Bruce D. Gaulin

Distinguished University Professor and Brockhouse Chair in the Physics of Materials, Department of Physics and Astronomy, McMaster University

# Contact

1280 Main Street W., Hamilton, ON, L8S 4M1, Canada

Phone: (905) 525-9140 x24362

Fax: (905) 546-1252

Email: gaulin@mcmaster.ca

### **Education**

Ph. D. Physics, McMaster University, 1986

B.Sc. Physics (Great Distinction), McGill University, 1981

# **Employment**

2017 – present Distinguished University Professor, McMaster University

1998 – present Brockhouse Chair in the Physics of Materials, McMaster University

1997 – present Professor, McMaster University

2009 – 2019 Director, Brockhouse Institute for Materials Research, McMaster University

1992 – 1997 Associate Professor, McMaster University

1988 – 1992 Assistant Professor, McMaster University

1986 – 1988 Staff Scientist, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

#### **Awards and Honours**

Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, 2011.

Fellow, Neutron Scattering Society of America, 2014.

Brockhouse Medal (Canadian Association of Physicists, for excellence in condensed matter physics) 2011. Killam Research Fellow, 2008-2010.

Fellow, American Physical Society, 2006.

Senior Fellow, Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (Quantum Materials Program), 2013 -present

Fellow, Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (Quantum Materials Program), 1999 – 2013.

Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow, 1990 – 1994.

## **Selected Professional Activities and Affiliations**

Director, Division of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, Royal Society of Canada, 2016 – 2020.

President (2018-2019), Canadian Association of Physicists.

Past-President (2019-2020), Canadian Association of Physicists

Vice President (2017-2018), Canadian Association of Physicists.

Vice President Elect (2016-2017), Canadian Association of Physicists

President, Neutron Scattering Society of America, 2008-2012.

President, Canadian Institute for Neutron Scattering, 1997-2003.

Physics Group Chair and Committee on Grants and Scholarships, NSERC, 2010-2013.

Director of Academic Affairs, Canadian Association of Physicists, 2006-2009.

Chair, Science Advisory Committee, Canadian Light Source, 2004-2008.

Advisory Committee on TRIUMF (ACOT), 2006-2010.

Chair, Experimental Evaluation Committee, Molecular and Materials Science, TRIUMF, 2003 – 2006.

Chair, IUPAP Commission 10, Structure and Dynamics of Condensed Matter, 2005 - 2008.

Secretary, IUPAP Commission 10, Structure and Dynamics of Condensed Matter, 2002 - 2005.

Advisory Board, Steacie Institute for Molecular Sciences, National Research Council, 2006 – 2010.

Chair, Lee-Osheroff-Richardson Prize Selection Committee 2003 – present.

Chair, Clifford G. Shull Prize Selection Committee, 2008.

Member, Clifford G. Shull Prize Selection Committee, 2006.

Member, Steacie Fellowship Selection Committee, 2016 – 2017.

Member, Steacie Prize Selection Committee, 2012-2014.

Conference Chair, International Conference on Highly Frustrated Magnetism 2012. (HFM 2012)

Conference Vice-Chair, Gordon Conference on Neutron Scattering, Hong Kong, 2015.

Conference Chair, Gordon Conference on Neutron Scattering, Hong Kong, 2017.

Conference Chair, Annual Congress of the Canadian Association of Physicists, Dalhousie University, 2018 Conference Chair, Magnetic North, (virtual), 2021.

Prof. Gaulin has co-authored 231 lifetime publications in refereed journals. This body of work has resulted in 6723 total citations, *h*-index: 44 (Web of Science) and 8961 total citations, *h*-index: 52 (Google Scholar).

Prof. Gaulin has delivered 283 invited research seminars and colloquia, mostly related to exotic magnetic ground states and neutron scattering. Of these, 108 were delivered at international conferences and workshops, and 175 were delivered at Universities and National Laboratories.

Prof. Gaulin has supervised 13 senior year undergraduate thesis students, 25 MSc students, 23 PhD students, 15 postdoctoral fellows, and 6 long term visitors (sabbatical visitors). In 2017, he was awarded the President's Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision, from McMaster University, in recognition of this record.