CNS :: ABOUT US :: Our History

The Department of Clinical Neurological Sciences began to evolve in 1969, when the former Division of Neurosurgery (within the Department of Surgery) and the Division of Neurology (within the Department of Medicine) were merged to form a free-standing Department.

The idea took shape in the minds of two outstanding, innovative physicians: Dr. Charles G. Drake (Bio); and Dr. Henry J.M. Barnett (Bio). The vision of Drs. Drake and Barnett was to bring together the varied specialists combatting disorders of the brain and nervous system - creating one multidisciplinary unit with a common mission to study, to care and to explore. Their brainchild: the Department of Clinical Neurological Sciences.

When University Hospital opened in 1972, neurosurgical services were consolidated to two sites, University Hospital and Victoria Hospital. Today, in-patient beds, clinic time and elective OR time are concentrated at University Hospital. Currently, there are 35 full-time physicians (27 neurologists, 8 neurosurgeons) within the London system.

A characteristic of the department has always been it’s collaboration with others including neuroradiology, neuropathology and pediatric neurology colleagues. Although officially part of their own departments (Diagnostic Radiology, Pathology and Pediatrics), members of these divisions have been and will continue to be members within the larger Department of Clinical Neurological Sciences. In more recent years, interdisciplinary collaborations with neuro-otology, neuro-ophthalmology and neuro-anaesthesia have also been developed.

In this setting, the department offers comprehensive, cutting-edge training and research for future neurologists and neurosurgeons.

  Contact Us | Site Requirements
            Site by
 Web & Media Designs by Kevin Biskaborn.
               London Ontario Canada.