ChemistryWestern Science

Konermann wins the Ricardo Aroca Award

The Ricardo Aroca Award, sponsored by the University of Windsor, is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to the field of analytical chemistry while working in Canada.

Lars Konermann here at Western explores the area of protein folding and dynamics, employing a range of mass spectrometry-based approaches that include rapid mixing techniques, hydrogen exchange, and covalent labeling. His research interests also extend to the mechanism of electrospray ionization and the structure/dynamics of gaseous protein ions, areas that are being tackled via experiments and molecular dynamics simulations. Konermann is cross-appointed to the Department of Biochemistry. He received his Ph.D. (Dr. rer. nat.) in 1996 for photosynthesis research performed at the Max Planck Institute in Mülheim, Germany. Konermann’s fascination with protein mass spectrometry developed during a post-doctoral fellowship at the University of British Columbia in 1996–1998, with D. J. Douglas, FCIC. Konermann is the recipient of the 2003 CSC Fred Beamish Award, 2011 UWO Florence Bucke Award, 2013 CSMS Fred Lossing Award, 2013 ETP Ken Standing Award, 2014 CSC McBryde Medal, a UWO Distinguished Research Professorship, a Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in 2004–2014, as well as several teaching awards. He chaired the 2011 Gordon Conference on “Biological Molecules in the Gas Phase and in Solution”, and he currently serves as chair of the Lake Louise Tandem Mass Spectrometry Workshop.

Congratulations Lars!