ChemistryWestern Science

Scholarships and Awards

The following scholarships are available to students in the Chemistry graduate program (subject to confirmation of funding availability). The Scholarship Chair will notify graduate students of the call for applications via email.

The Paul de Mayo Award

Paul de Mayo was a dedicated teacher-scholar at Western for 35 years. After his death in 1994, contributions for a fund to commemorate his life and work came from around the world, reflecting the high respect, admiration, and affection of his former collaborators and colleagues. This fund now honors one of Western’s top graduate students each year. The award consists of a medal and a cash award that covers travel and an honorarium to deliver a research lecture at UWO.

Lipson-Baines Award in Chemistry

Awarded annually to two full-time Masters or Doctoral students in Chemistry who have achieved the highest marks in the course Chemistry 9658 “Seminar” (minimum 85% average). The Department of Chemistry awards committee will select the recipients each spring. At least one member of this committee will hold membership in the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies. This award was established by Professor Robert H. Lipson in appreciation of one of the finest Chemistry departments in Canada where he spent twenty-five years as a faculty member and five years as Chair (2000-2005). Professor Lipson wishes to also recognize the contributions Professor Kim M. Baines has made as Chair (2006-2014), and to their lasting friendship.
Value: 2 at $1,000
Effective: May 2015

Christian Sivertz Scholarships

The Christian Sivertz Scholarship Fund was established in the memory of Christian Sivertz, Professor Emeritus of Physical Chemistry, by his family and interested friends for the purpose of awarding monies yearly to outstanding students pursuing graduate studies in the area of Physical Chemistry. The awardees will be selected by the Department of Chemistry from among the incoming graduate students.
Value: 2 at $3,500


1-2 awards per year for graduate students registered in the Chemistry Graduate Program. The ASPIRE award funds travel costs for graduate students to visit another research lab so that they can learn new techniques or gain access to equipment not available locally or in Canada.

CSC Travel Award

These awards were established from the proceeds of the Chemical Institute of Canada - 2004 Canadian Society for Chemistry Conference held in London. Awarded to full-time graduate students in the Chemistry Graduate program based on academic achievement (minimum 78% average) and research merit to enable recipients to attend and present their research at a conference (oral or poster presentation).

The Lumsden Fellowship/Award

Awarded to full-time students registered in the Faculty of Graduate Studies and enrolled in any of the following graduate programs: Applied Mathematics, Astronomy, Chemistry, Computer Science, Geology, Geophysics, Mathematics, Physics, Plant Sciences, Statistics and Actuarial Sciences, Zoology. Candidates must demonstrate financial need and academic achievement (minimum 78% average). Recipients will be selected by the Dean of Science in consultation with a faculty committee. Recipients must meet OSOTF eligibility requirements. Fellowships have been made possible through a bequest from the late Ruth V. Lumsden and Robert O. Lumsden. Each fellowship is valued at $1000 and all graduate students in programs of Departments in the Faculty of Science are eligible for consideration.

Two awards have been made possible through a bequest from the late Ruth V. Lumsden and Robert O. Lumsden. Each award is valued at $1,000 and will be awarded to graduate students in any Ph.D. graduate program based on financial need and academic achievement. Nominees must be either a Canadian citizen or Permanent Resident and must have resided in the Province of Ontario for at least two years.

Soltys Award

Awarded to a full-time graduate student in the MSc or PhD program in Chemistry based on academic achievement (minimum 78% average) and financial need. Preference will be given to a married student. Candidates must also meet OSOTF financial need and residency requirements. Applications are available through the Department of Chemistry. The Department of Chemistry will select the recipient in consultation with at least one Chemistry faculty member who is also a member of the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies. This award was established by Mrs. Judith Soltys and others, in memory of Dr. Joe Soltys (BSc '63, PhD '69), through Foundation Western.