Kyle Jackman Inaugural Recipient of the G. Michael and Joan Bancroft Award

Kyle Jackman, of the Blacquiere group, is the first recipient of the G. Michael and Joan Bancroft Award for excellence in graduate research. Congratulations Kyle.

Kyle will give his award talk on Thursday May 14 at 12:30 pm by Zoom ( Please see abstract for his talk entitled ‘An Unusual Bimetallic Csp3-Csp3 Coupling Mechanism from a [Pd(P^AzA)(Me)]2 Dimer’.

About the award: The G. Michael and Joan Bancroft Graduate Research Award, that has been made possible by the generosity of G. Michael and Joan Bancroft. The award complements other metrics of recognition of excellence in the department, and it will be given annually to a full-time doctoral student in Chemistry based on the quality and quantity of peer-reviewed Western publications. Students registered up to seven terms are eligible for the award, and one award will be made annually at a value of $1,200 beginning May 2019.

Dr. G. Michael Bancroft joined the faculty at Western in 1970. He was Director of the Centre for Chemical Physics from 1977-1981, Chair of Chemistry from 1986-91 and 1992-1995, and Director of the Canadian Light Source in Saskatoon from 1999-2001. He has been committed both to his own spectroscopic research, and to the establishment of large, collaborative research facilities such as Surface Science Western, the Canadian Synchrotron Radiation Facility in Madison, and the Canadian Light Source. He has been the recipient of many awards, including a Shell Graduate Scholarship to the University of Cambridge in 1964, Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 1978, and Officer of the Order of Canada in 2006.  Both Michael and Joan are very aware of how critical awards (especially early awards) are to a successful career. They aim to encourage young Western chemistry graduate students with this Research Award.