Researcher Profile

Robert Teasell

Robert Teasell


Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Contact Information:
(519) 685-4292 x44559
Parkwood Institute Research

Associated Websites:

Research Areas


Dr. Teasell obtained an undergraduate degree in Biology BSc and a medical degree at the University of Western Ontario. He completed a rotating internship at St. Joseph's Hospital, London and residency training in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at the University of Ottawa. He was a consultant physiatrist at University Hospital in London from 1986-2002 and Parkwood Hospital, St. Joseph's Health Care London from 2002-present. He was Chief of PM&R at University Hospital from 1988-1996, Chief of PM&R at London Health Sciences Centre from 1996-2001 and City-Wide Chief from 2001-2012. He was Acting Chair of the Western University Department of PM&R from 1997-1999 and Chair/Chief from 2001-2012. He is currently the Research Director of the Department of PM&R, Western University. Dr. Teasell is the Medical Director of the Stroke Rehabilitation Program at Parkwood Institute and has an active outpatient chronic pain practice.

Dr. Teasell is a past Chair of the Research Committee of the Canadian Association of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, a past member of the Ontario and Canadian Stroke Strategy Executive Committee, and a past examiner for the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons for Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. He is or has been on the editorial board of the Journal of Rehabilitation Medicine, Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Topics in Stroke Rehabilitation and the Journal of Pain Research and Management and was a Section Editor of the Journal of Stroke. He has received several awards including the Physician Staff Organization Reward and Recognition Award for St. Joseph's Health Care London (2008), the Merit Award from the Canadian Association of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (2010) and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada McLaughlin-Gallie Visiting Professor Award (2012). In 2016 he delivered the Ray Hnatyshyn lecture at the Canadian Stroke Congress. He was awarded the 2018 Lawson Impact Scientist of the Year Award and the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine/National Stroke Association Award for Excellence in Post-Acute Stroke in 2018.