á Department of Biology Department of Biology Western University Science Logo

Cross-Appointed, Adjunct, and Sessional Faculty

Cross-Appointed Faculty

NAME

Research

EMAIL

PHONE

Dean Betts, PhD
Physiology & Pharmacology

Understanding molecular and cellular mechanisms of early embryo development and pluripotent stem cells.

dbetts@uwo.ca 519  661-2111  x 83786
Peter Chidiac, PhD
Physiology & Pharmacology

Regulation and function of heterotrimeric G proteins

peter.chidiac@schulich.uwo.ca office: 519 661-3318
x83318
lab: 519 661-2111
x80085
Mark Daley, PhD
Computer Science

Natural Computing; mathematical and computational modelling of genetic systems

mark.daley@uwo.ca 519 661-2111 
x87897
Martin Duennwald, PhD
Pathlogy and Laboratory Medicine

Protein misfolding, neurodegenerative diseases, cellular protein quality control

martin.duennwald@schulich.uwo.ca (519) 661-2111 x86874

Thomas Drysdale
Physiology and Pharmacology

Developmental Biology, Organogenesis

tadrysda@uwo.ca 519 685-8500
x55072

Fred Longstaffe, PhD
Earth Sciences

Stable isotope science

flongsta@uwo.ca 519 661-2111 
x 83177
Scott A. MacDougall-Shackleton, PhD
Psychology

Animal cognition; behavioural & cognitive neuroscience

smacdou2@uwo.ca 519 661-2111 
x 84629
Charles McKenzie, PhD
Medical Biophysics

Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) of pregnancy.

cmcken@uwo.ca 519 661-2111 x85686
David Sherry, PhD
Psychology

Learning, memory, behavioural & cognitive neuroscience

sherry@uwo.ca 519 661-2111 
x84659


Adjunct Faculty

NAME

RESEARCH

EMAIL

PHONE

Ryan Austin, PhD
London Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)

Plant transcriptional regulation, bioinformatics, epigenetics

ryan.austin@canada.ca

519 953-6646

Irena Creed, PhD
Executive Director, SENS University of Saskatchewan

 Ecosystem Scientist

icreed@uwo.ca
sens.executivedirector@usask.ca

306 966-8431

Yuhai Cui, PhD
London Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)

Plant Molecular Biology; Seed Development

yuhai.cui@canada.ca

519 953-6622

Rob Dean, PhD

Biology Laboratory Education

rdean1@uwo.ca

 

Sangeeta Dhaubhadel, PhD
London Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)

Gene expression and regulation, plant specialized metabolism, genomics and biotechnology, soybean and dry bean

sangeeta.dhaubhadel@canada.ca

519 953-6616

Cam Donly, PhD
London Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)

Genomics and biotechnology, RNA interference, plant transformation, biopesticide development, entomology

cam.donly@canada.ca

519 953-6707

Erik Emilson, PhD
Great Lakes Forestry Centre, Natural Resources Canada

Boreal Ecology

eemilson@uwo.ca
erik.emilson@canada.ca

705 541-5646

Mark Gijzen, PhD
London Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)

Molecular plant pathology, plant immunity, viurlence and evolution of plant pathogens

mark.gijzen@canada.ca

519 953-6706

Paul Goodwin, PhD
School of Environmental Sciences, University of Guelph

Molecular Plant Pathology

pgoodwin@uwo.ca
pgoodwin@uguelph.ca

519 824-4120
x52754

Abdelali Hannoufa, PhD
London Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)

Molecular Plant Stress Physiology, Plant Biotechnology, Regulation of Gene Expression, Functional Genomics

Abdelali.Hannoufa@canada.ca

519 953- 6621

Norman Hüner, PhD

Photosynthetic Adaptation and Phenotypic Plasticity in Extreme Environments

nhuner@uwo.ca

 

George Lazarovits, PhD
A&L Biologicals

Plant pathology and soil ecology

lazarovitsg@alcanada.com

 

Frédéric Marsolais, PhD
London Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)

Protein chemistry of pulses, sulphur and amide amino acid metabolism, seed protein concentration, soybean, plant molecular biology Publications

frederic.marsolais@canada.ca

519 953-6718

Rima Menassa, PhD
London Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)

Plant bioreactors for the production of veterinary vaccines and antibodies as alternatives to antibiotics

rima.menassa@canada.ca 

519 953-6636

Louise Milligan, PhD

Physiology and Biochemistry of Fish

milligan@uwo.ca

 

Tod Ramsfield, PhD
Canadian Forest Service, Natural Resources Canada

Forest Pathologist

tod.ramsfield@canada.ca

780 435-7394

Amanda Roe, PhD
Great Lakes Forestry Centre, Natural Resources Canada

Systematics and Evolution; Environmental Biology; Molecular Ecology of Insects and Pests of Forests

aroe3@uwo.ca
amanda.roe@canada.ca

705 541-5517

Ian Scott, PhD
London Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)

Biopesticide Discovery and Development

ian.scott2@canada.ca

519 953-6682

Shiva Singh, PhD

Molecular Genetics of Complex Diseases and Phenotype

ssingh@uwo.ca

 

Krzysztof Szczyglowski, PhD
London Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)

Benefical plant-microbe interactions, symbiotic nitrogen fixation, root system architecture, plant nutrition

Krzysztof.Szczyglowski@canada.ca

519 953-6625

Philip Taylor, PhD

ptaylo6@uwo.ca

Lining Tian, PhD
London Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)

Plant biotechnology, plant biotic and abiotic resistance, gene editing, epigenetics

lining.tian@canada.ca

519 953-6714

Edward Topp, PhD
London Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)

Environmental microbiology and chemistry, antimicrobial resistance in food production systems, soil quality, manure and soil management

ed.topp@canada.ca

519 953-6717

Charles Trick, PhD

Aquatic Sciences and Microbial Ecology

trick@uwo.ca

 

Yves Van de Peer, PhD
Ghent University

Bioinformatics

yves.vandepeer@psb.ugent.be

Aiming Wang, PhD
London Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)

Molecular plant virology, biology and genomics

aiming.wang@canada.ca

519 953-6697

Claudia Wagner-Riddle, PhD
School of Environmental Sciences, University of Guelph

Agricultural Engineering; Agrometeorology

cwagnerr@uwo.ca
cwagnerr@uoguelph.ca

519 824-4120
x52787

Yingming Zhao, PhD
Ministry of Environment

yzhao347@uwo.ca

Part Time Faculty

NAME

EMAIL

Brock Fenton, PhD

bfenton@uwo.ca

Tim Hain, PhD

tjhain@uwo.ca

Daria Koscinski, PhD

daria.koscinski@uwo.ca

Patrick McDonald, PhD 

pmcdona5@uwo.ca

Gabor Sass, PhD

gabor.sass@uwo.ca

Niki Sharan, PhD

nsharan@uwo.ca

Nina Zitani, PhD

nzitani@uwo.ca