

The UNIVERSITY of WESTERN ONTARIO

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF SENATE

December 5, 2003

The meeting was held at 1:30 p.m. in Room 1R40, Richard Ivey School of Business.

SENATORS: 72

S. Adams J. Haywood-Farmer S. Osborn M-A. Andrusyszyn G. Paola N. Heapy M. Bartlett R. Parks S. Hill I. Baruss I. Holloway A. Pearson F. Berruti R. Howse N. Petersen C. Beynon I. Hramiak N. Rhoden E. Johanssen L. Bowman C. Ross S. Brennan C. Jones R. Secco C. Brown W. Kennedy A. Sells N. Crowther J. Kingston N. Shupak R. Klassen S. Singh R. Darnell P. Davenport D. Kneale E. Skarakis-Doyle M. Kreiswirth P. Dean A. Steiman R. Dix P. Kucherepa J-L. Suarez J. Doerksen J. Tennant B. Laserson R. Dunn G. Lee B. Thompson D. Dutrizac F. Longstaffe B. Timney C. Essex S. Majhanovich T. Topic J. Etherington L. Miller S. Usprich C. Farber G. Moran D. Vaillancourt W. Flintoff J. Nash J. Van Fleet A. Forbes M. Ninness T. Vandervoort J. Garland E. Noble L. Vaughan J. Harrington K. Okruhlik M. Wilson

Observers: L. Gribbon, D. Jameson, A. Weedon

S.03-221 Minutes of the Previous Meeting

The minutes of the meeting of November 14, 2003, were approved as circulated.

ACADEMIC POLICY AND AWARDS [Exhibit I]

S.03-222 Sessional Dates

Prior to Senate considering the recommendation regarding the Sessional Dates, Dean Timney corrected the motion to strike reference to sessional dates in Law for 2005-06.

On behalf of the Senate Committee on Academic Policy and Awards, it was moved by B. Timney, seconded by B. Laserson,

That Senate approve the undergraduate sessional dates for 2005 and the sessional dates for the Faculties of Education, Law and Medicine & Dentistry for 2004-05, as outlined in Appendix 1.

CARRIED

S.03-223 **Revisions to SRBA Regulations**

It was moved by B. Timney, seconded by A. Steiman,

That, as a result of approval by the Board of Governors of a new Non-Discrimination/Harassment Policy, the regulations of the Senate Review Board Academic (SRBA) be revised to remove all references to the Race Relations Policy, as detailed in Exhibit I.

CARRIED

S.03-224 <u>Brescia University College: Withdrawal of Minors in Family Studies (Human Ecology) and in Foods and Nutrition</u> (S.02-250a, S.02-250b, S.03-083)

It was moved by B. Timney, seconded by M. Wilson,

That the Minor in Family Studies (Human Ecology) and the Minor in Foods and Nutrition be withdrawn from offerings at Brescia University College.

CARRIED

S.03-225 **Report on Scholarships and Awards**

Senate received for information the terms of reference for the following new scholarships and awards for recommendation to the Board of Governors through the Vice-Chancellor:

Sabine and Raymond W. Leduc Strategic Management Awards (Faculty of Social Science, BACS)
Noel Gibson Prize (Faculty of Arts, Visual Arts)
Robert A. Parker Book Prize (Faculty of Arts, Philosophy)
Caroline M. and Robert C. Bradley Award (Faculty of Science, Chemistry/Biochemistry)
The London Air Show and Balloon Festival Prize (Faculty of Social Science, BACS)
Bob Britney HBA Prize (Richard Ivey School of Business)
Elizabeth Taylor Memorial Prize (Faculty of Arts, Visual Arts)

UNIVERSITY PLANNING [Exhibit II]

S.03-226 Creation of the Department of Film Studies in the Faculty of Arts

On behalf of the Senate Committee on University Planning, it was moved by B. Skarakis-Doyle, seconded by K. Okruhlik,

That Senate approve and recommend to the Board of Governors, through the Vice-Chancellor, creation of the Department of Film Studies in the Faculty of Arts effective July 1, 2004.

Mr. Johanssen asked for the rationale behind the creation of the Department of Film Studies. Dean Okruhlik referred to the background information contained in Exhibit II. Film Studies has been taught in the Department of English for more than 30 years. Enrolment in Film Studies continues to grow and it became evident that for Film Studies to meet its full potential, a new administrative structure was necessary. Through the consultation process within the Faculty of Arts, the consensus was that a Department of Film Studies should be created; this will provide disciplinary autonomy and will make interdisciplinary collaboration easier.

S.03-227 **2002-2003 Survey of Student Finances**

Senate was informed that the 73-page report on the Survey of Student Finances may be viewed at http://www.uwo.ca/univsec/senate/minutes/2003/r0312studfin 02-03.pdf

S.03-228 Student Exit Survey Results

Dr. Moran stated that the Student Exit Survey, conducted annually, provides constructive information that is used by the Deans to enhance the educational experience in areas where the results show improvements are needed.

S.03-229 ANNOUNCEMENTS & COMMUNICATIONS [Exhibit III]

Announcements and Communications, detailed in Exhibit III, were received for information. Dr. Davenport announced that the Board, at its meeting in November, approved the reappointments of Dr. Kathleen Okruhlik as the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Dr. Carol Herbert as the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry.

ENQUIRIES AND NEW BUSINESS

S.03-230 Change in Title: Vice-Provost (Academic Programs and Students)

Mr. Etherington asked why "Registrar" was dropped from the title Vice-Provost & Registrar. Dr. Moran explained that Dr. Harris continues to hold the position of Registrar and uses that title when the need arises. The change in title more accurately reflects the responsibilities of the position.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 1:45 p.m.	
P. Davenport Chair	J.K. Van Fleet Secretary