

# Subcommittee for Western Approved Micro-credentials (SWAM)

Effective Date: September 1, 2022

Supersedes: July 1, 2021

Date of Next Review: Spring 2024

\_\_\_\_\_

#### **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

To formulate policy and procedure concerning Western Approved Micro-credentials, including pathways across different credentials, and to report to the Senate Committee on Academic Curriculum and Awards (ACA) on an annual basis.

To review and approve applications for Western Approved Micro-credentials.

To review and approve digital badges for Western Approved Micro-credentials.

To review on a three-year cycle Western Approved Micro-credentials through a robust and rigorous internal quality assurance process including an on-going self-assessment strategy.

To monitor the need for Western Approved Micro-credentials by industry, employers, and/or the community.

#### **COMPOSITION**

Seven members elected by Senate:

- Five faculty members, one of whom shall be an Associate Dean (Undergraduate or Graduate), and one of whom shall be a Department Chair (or equivalent). No two members may be from the same faculty/school.
- Two students: one graduate and one undergraduate.

One representative of the Affiliated University Colleges, appointed on a one-year rotational basis, in consultation with the Principal/President concerned.

One representative, appointed on a two-year term, by the London Economic Development Corporation (LEDC).

# **Subcommittee for Western Approved Micro-credentials**

## Ex officio (voting):

Vice-Provost (Academic Programs)
Vice-Provost (Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies)
Director, Western Continuing Studies
Director, Centre for Teaching and Learning
Chair of the Senate Committee on Academic Curriculum and Awards

## Ex officio (non-voting):

University Registrar University Secretary

The Committee shall elect a Chair and a Vice-Chair annually.

## **GENERAL PROCESS FOR SENATE COMMITTEES AND SUBCOMMITTEES**

**Quorum:** As set out in Senate By-Law VI.11.(b), quorum shall be one-half of all

voting members during September to May, and one-third of all voting

members during June, July and August.

Quorum September to May: 7 voting members Quorum June to August: 5 voting members

**Terms:** The terms of office for elected members shall be one year (renewable)

for students and two years (renewable) for faculty/others, as set out in

Senate By-Law VI.10.(a).