Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Association (OCUFA) Teaching and Academic Librarianship Awards

Call for Nominations

Deadline for receipt of nominations: May 25, 2018

Each year, OCUFA recognizes outstanding teachers and academic librarians in Ontario universities through awards. Since 1973, OCUFA has presented 376 awards. The recipients are selected by the OCUFA Teaching and Academic Librarianship Awards Committee. Approximately 7 awards are presented.

Teaching, in the context of the OCUFA Awards, embraces virtually all levels of instruction--graduate and undergraduate teaching, continuing education, and faculty development. Similarly, proficiency in teaching may extend well beyond the classroom, the laboratory, or the faculty member's office. Activities such as course design, curriculum development, organization of teaching programs, and other significant forms of leadership are often important contributions to the instructional process. Those who excel in any of these are eligible for the OCUFA Teaching Awards.

Details regarding nomination process, award eligibility, etc. can be found at: http://ocufa.on.ca/ocufa-awards/teaching-and-academic-librarianship-awards/

Past Recipients

Recipient Department / Faculty Year
Quazi Rahman Electrical and Computer Engineering 2017
Marjorie Johnson Anatomy and Cell Biology 2016
Margaret Jane (MJ) Kidnie English 2014
Stephen Pitel Law 2013
Cameron Tsujita Earth Sciences 2009
Michael Pearce Business 2007
Anton Allahar Sociology 2004
Stephen Hicock Earth Sciences 2003
Bertha Garcia Pathology 2002
John M. Howard Medicine & Paediatrics 2001
Mark Workentin Chemistry 2001
Neil Macrae Earth Sciences 2000
Duncan Hunter Chemistry 1999
Jim Silcox Obstetrics & Gynaecology 1999
Rebecca Coulter Education 1997
Peter Haase Anatomy & Cell Biology 1996
Kerry Rowe Civil Engineering 1996
Melvyn Usselman Chemistry 1996
Marilyn Robinson Physiology 1994
Nils Petersen Chemistry 1992
Donald Hair English 1991
Merrill Edmonds Medicine 1990
Stanley Stanko English 1990
Allan Gedalof English 1989
T. D. Gaily Physics 1989
William Fisher Psychology 1988
Carroll Iwasiw Nursing 1987
Maryann Ayim Education 1985
Robert Solomon LAW 1985
Harry G. Murray Psychology 1983
Paul S. Sills Dentistry 1983
Ronald Martin Chemistry 1982
Michael Bauer Computer Science 1981
Valentina Donisch Biochemistry 1981
Arthur E. Barker Renaissance Literature 1980
Donald G. Cartwright Geography 1980
Roland A. Haines Chemistry 1979
Charles Levine Sociology 1979
Henri Tuchmaier French 1979
Aleksis Dreimanis Geology 1978
William McMurray Biochemistry 1978
Barbara Houston Education 1977
Paul B. Park Education 1977
Edward G. Pleva Geography 1977
D. R. Bidinosti Chemistry 1976
A. W. Bryant Law 1976
D. B. McMillan Zoology 1976
C. Roberts Nursing 1976
Jessie Mantle Nursing 1975
Craig Simpson History 1975
Colin Baird Chemistry 1974
Carl F. Grindstaff Sociology 1974
Martin Westmacott Political Science 1974

Peter Rosati

Engineering Science