University Students' Council Teaching Awards of Excellence

Call for Nominations

Deadline for nominations: Friday November 7th, 2014

Western University's Ontario's Award of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching is co-presented by The University Students' Council, The Bank of Nova Scotia and UWO Alumni Association, to recognize, celebrate and award excellence in undergraduate teaching. Each year four award recipients are selected by the USC Teaching Excellence Awards Committee comprised of the USC VP Education, USC Teaching Awards Commissioner, USC Council members, student-at-large members, and Alumni members. The objectives of the Teaching Awards program are:

  • To provide support and recognition for the innovative teaching methods and techniques demonstrated by Western's finest faculty members
  • To further the quality of education that is provided for all students at Western
  • To involve members of our corporate and alumni community in the promotion of excellence in teaching

Western USC Website

Students' Council Award Recipients

RecipientDepartment / FacultyYear
Larry Garber English and Writing Studies 2015
Felix Lee Chemistry 2015
Mario Longtin French 2015
Sebastien Ruffo French 2015
Mark Workentin Chemistry 2015
Jenna Butler Computer Science PhD Candidate 2014
Peter Ferguson Political Science 2014
Tom Haffie Biology 2014
Quazi Rahman Engineering 2014
Mitsume Fukui Faculty of Arts and Humanities 2013
Jennifer Irwin Faculty of Health Sciences 2013
M.J. Kidnie Faculty of Arts and Humanities 2013
Anita Woods Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry 2013
Julie Gosse Richard Ivey School of Business 2012
Eli Gladstone Richard Ivey School of Business 2012
Sean Burkett Richard Ivey School of Business 2012
Lars Konermann Science 2012
Henry Meredith Music 2011
Derek McLachlin Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry 2011
Felix Lee Science 2011
Mark Lee Social Science 2011
Robert Hudson Chemistry & Biochemistry 2010
Ben Lester Economics 2010
Jan Minac Mathematics 2010
Aleksandra Zecevic Health Sciences 2010
William Colby Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry 2009
Peter Ferguson Political Science 2009
Charles Jones Political Science 2009
Carolyn McLeaod Philosophy 2009
Jill Ball Music 2008
Neil Bradford Political Science, Huron University College 2008
Stephen Pitel Law 2008
Rob Wardhaugh History 2008
Radoslav Dimitrov Political Science 2007
Douglas Leighton History, Huron University College 2007
Patrick Whippey Physics & Astronomy 2007
Tim Wilson Bachelor of Health Sciences Program 2007
Randal Graham Law 2006
Chuck Levine Sociology 2006
Daniel Munro Political Science, Huron University College 2006
Tutis Vilis Physiology & Pharmacology 2006
Craig Simpson History 2005
Melvyn Usselman Chemistry 2005
Jennifer Irwin Health Science 2005
Kim Verwaayen Women's Studies 2005
Joanna Quinn Political Science 2004
Roland Haines Chemistry 2004
Denis Shackel Business 2004
Graham Smith Geography 2004
Anton Allahar Sociology 2003
Garry Lapenskie Kinesiology 2003
Bruce Morrison Political Science 2003
Maureen Smith Education 2003
James Erskine Business 2002
Marjorie Johnson Kinesiology 2002
Christopher Keep English 2002
Mark Workentin Chemistry 2002
Alison Lee English 2001
Alexandra Hurst Business 2001
Laura Melnyk Gribble Psychology 2001
Mary Heisz Social Science 2001
Alison Conway English 2000
Shannon Gadowsky Human Ecology, Brescia College 2000
Ian Kerr Law & Information and Media Studies 2000
Tom Stavraky Physiology 2000
Sonia Halpern Centre for Women's Studies and Feminist Research 1999
Mitchell Mcinnes Law 1999
David Stanford Statistical & Actuarial Sciences 1999
Jerry White Sociology 1999
Dean Gailey Science 1998
Robert Hawkins Law 1998
Don Morrow Health Sciences 1998
Mark Workentin Science 1998
Jan MINAC Mathematics 1997
Michael Lusztig Political Science 1997
Andres Perez Political Science 1997
Peter Poole Applied Mathematics 1997
Anton Allahar Sociology 1996
Mike Atkinson Psychology 1996
Dino Bidinosti Chemistry 1996
Bud Johnston Business 1996