Graduate Student

Scholarships & Awards

Are there financial awards with a preference for female graduate students?

Yes, at the Canadian Federation of University Women there is the:

CFUW Memorial Fellowship
- The candidate must be enrolled in a masters degree program in science, mathematics, or engineering. She may be studying abroad. Value: 1 @ $10,000.

There are other awards available from this organization although they are not specifically for science, to see more click here.

2008 Google Canada Anita Borg Memorial Scholarship - Candidates must:

Be a female student enrolled in an undergraduate or postgraduate program in 2008-2009 – all years of study are eligible.
Be studying Computer Science, Computer Engineering, Software Engineering or related technical fields.
Be enrolled in full-time study in the 2008-2009 academic year
Be enrolled as a student at a Canadian university. International students are eligible to apply as long as they are enrolled at a Canadian university
Have a minimum GPA of 3.3 on a 4.0 scale, or 75%, or a B+
For more details click here.

Western provides the best student experience among Canada's leading research-intensive universities.