2009 L'Oreal-UNESCO Women in Science Award laureate has a Western connection


Dr. Margaret-Ann Armour and Dr. David Wardlaw

Professor Tebello Nyokong of South Africa's Rhodes University is one of five recipients of the 2009 L’ORÉAL-UNESCO Award For Women in Science .

The 11th Annual L’ORÉAL-UNESCO Awards For Women in Science will be handed out on March 5th at an UNESCO awards ceremony. The winner for Africa & the Arab States is Tebello Nyokong, Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and Nanotechnology in the Department of Chemistry at Rhodes University in South Africa. Nyokong received her PhD from The University of Western Ontario and was a Fulbright Scholar at the University of Notre Dame. Her research focuses on the poryphyrins, which can be used as photosensitive drugs for cancer treatment, photosensitizers for photochemical destruction of pollutants in water, and in the development of sensors for biologically and medically important molecules.

This year, the theme of the awards is “Physical Sciences”, and the Laureates were selected through nominations by a network of nearly 1,000 members of the international scientific community. Diverse in origin, determined in nature, and extraordinary in intellect, the 2009 Laureates reflect the programme’s mission: to change the face of science and support the advancement of women in the scientific field. The Awards Ceremony will take place on 5 March 2009, at UNESCO. Each Laureate will receive $100,000 in recognition of her contribution to science.

For more on Pr. Nyokong's notable career click here to read a profile from The Guardian.