Research Western

WesternREM

WesternREM

The office of Human Research Ethics launched WesternREM, its new online protocol submission platform on September 7, 2017, replacing ROMEO. WesternREM was implemented to streamline the human ethics submission process, and to allow users to better track a protocol's progress through its review. This system addresses a number of challenges users experienced with ROMEO. WesternREM is:

WREM Login

Please note: all newly created projects meeting Lawson Health Research Institute criteria must first be submitted here.

Training Materials

Training

In-person, lab-based training sessions continue to be offered. These sessions cover the full slate of the ethics submissions processes, including: setting up accounts, adding/removing research personnel, submitting initial studies and post-approval submissions (e.g., amendments, continuing reviews, study closures, reportable events, etc.), general system navigation and where to access training materials.

Hands-on group overview sessions (see current listings below) are available for enrollment through the OWL portal (Please use your Western login/password at the prompt; if you do not have a Western login, please contact wrem@uwo.ca). More dates and information will be added as they become available. Here is the current listing of dates for group sessions:

Group Training Dates: September

  • Tuesday, September 12, 2-4 p.m.
  • Wednesday, September 13, 10-12 a.m.
  • Wednesday, September 20, 10-12 a.m.
  • Friday, September 22, 2-4 p.m

Group Training Dates: October

  • Friday, October 13, 10-12 a.m.
  • Friday, October 20, 2-4 p.m.
  • Friday, October 27, 10-12 a.m.

Group Training Dates: November

  • Wednesday, November 1, 10-12 a.m.
  • Wednesday, November 8, 2-4 p.m.
  • Wednesday, November 15, 10-12 a.m.

Additional Information

Migration process to WesternREM