Research Western

Killam Prizes - 2019

Administered by the Canada Council for the Arts, the Killam Prizes (distinct from the Killam Fellowships) are among Canada’s most prestigious and distinguished research awards. Five unrestricted, non-taxable prizes of $100,000 are awarded annually to provide support to Canadian scholars of exceptional ability who are actively engaged in research of broad significance and widespread interest. One prize is awarded in each of the following fields: humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences, and engineering. Nominations are to be made by an expert in the nominee’s field.

Candidates must have made a substantial and distinguished contribution, over a significant period, to scholarly research in Canada. Their outstanding achievements must have been clearly demonstrated already, and they are expected to make further contributions to the scholarly and scientific heritage of Canada.

Nomination Process

A complete nomination package will consist of the following:


Nomination packages must be sent by mail to:

Killam Program
Prizes Section
Canada Council for the Arts
150 Elgin Street, P.O. Box 1047
Ottawa ON K1P 5V8


The nomination submission deadline is June 15, 2018


Potential nominators and nominees are encouraged to consult with Julaine Hall at Research Development & Services ( regarding this opportunity