Research Education Day
June 18th, 2010 - 7th Annual


Oncology Research & Education Day is organized by the CIHR-Strategic Training Program in Cancer Research and Technology Transfer (CaRTT) and the Department of Oncology at the University of Western Ontario.





June 18th, 2010 - 7th Annual

The 7th Annual Oncology Research & Education Day is an all-day event held at:

  • Lamplighter Inn, Friday, June 18th, 2010

This year's Smith Errington Keynote Speaker is:

  • Dr. Tak W. Mak, Director of the Campbell Family Institute for Breast Cancer Research
    Princess Margaret Hospital
    Professor - Department of Medical Biophysics & Department of Immunology
    University of Toronto


^Back to top



Dr. Tak W. Mak2010 Smith Errington Lecturer
Dr. Tak W. Mak
Director of the Campbell Family Institute for Breast Cancer Research
Princess Margaret Hospital
Professor - Department of Medical Biophysics & Department of Immunology
University of Toronto

It is a pleasure to announce that Dr. Tak W. Mak will be our keynote speaker for this year's event.

His research interests center on immune recognition and regulation as well as cell survival and cell death in normal and malignant cells. He is best known as the leading scientist of the group that first cloned the genes of the human T cell antigen receptor, which provided essential insight into the molecular basis of cellular immunity. Subsequently, he became perhaps the most prolific proponent of and contributor to the mouse modeling by means of homologous recombination technology. His laboratory created large numbers of genetically modified mice that have proved critical to unraveling intracellular programs governing the development and function of the immune system and the dissection of signal transduction cascades in various cell survival and apoptotic pathways. These models have been distributed to laboratories around the world and have been a major resource to the scientific community.

More recently, Dr. Mak refocused a large portion of his research interests to the pathogenesis of breast cancer. He has published more than 20 scientific papers in this area, including the initial discovery that the breast cancer susceptibility genes BRCA1 and BRCA2 are related to DNA repair. A recent high impact discovery was the finding that RhoC is involved in the metastasis of breast cancers. Even more recently, he has turned his attention to the role of altered metabolism in cancer cell survival, and has identified a novel isoform of a gene involved in fatty acid metabolism as induced by p53 and hypoxia and essential for tumor cell group.

He has co-authored over 650 scientific papers and holds 21 U.S. Patents. He was amongst one of the scientist ranked as having published the greatest number of highly cited papers over the past years. Dr. Mak has extensive industrial and commercialization experience, serving on the scientific advisory boards of several pharmaceutical, biotechnology and venture capital firms, and also founding or co-founding several companies.

Dr. Mak has already been recognized by the scientific community through numerous prestigious awards and honors, including Germany’s most prestigious research award, the Emil Von Behring Prize in 1988, Canada’s most prestigious award, the Gairdner Foundation International Award for outstanding contributions in the field of medical science in 1989, the King Faisal International Prize for Medicine in 1995, the Alfred E. Sloan Prize of General Motors Cancer Foundation in 1996 and the Novartis Immunology Prizes in 1998. Dr. is also the recipient of every other major award in Canada, including the 1996 National Cancer Institute of Canada R.L. Noble Prize, the Order of Canada in 2000, the Ontario Premier’s Summit Award in Medical Research in 2007, the Order of Ontario in 2008 and induction into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame in 2009. He was
elected as a Foreign Associate of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences in 2002, and has been awarded honorary doctorates degrees from Canadian, Chinese, Italian, Scandinavian, Swiss and German universities and medical school. In addition, he is also a member on numerous advisory boards of scientific journals and medical centers.


^Back to top



Abstract Submission: R&E Day Abstract Submissions Guidelines and Submission Form for 2010.
Abstract deadline: Friday, April 23rd, 2010, 12:00pm (noon)


Registration : Click here to register
Registration deadline - Friday, June 11th, 2010, 12:00pm (noon)


All posters MUST be posted prior to the beginning of the event, which begins at 8am. Posters will be affixed to the boards using sticky velcro tabs that will be provided on the day of the event. You will be assigend a poster number which will denote the location of your poster. New Posters must be no larger than 4ft x 4ft. If your poster was used for a previous event and is larger, please indicate this with your submission.

Abstracts that are chosen for oral presentation will be rich in data, and at a professional level. Those selected for oral presentation will be asked to provide their PowerPoint presentation via e-mail and on CD to Joanne Gribbon , by noon, Friday, June 11th, 2010. This will allow the AV professional to identify potential problems with images, moves, etc. prior to the event. A laser pointer will be provided. The session Moderator will keep all speakers on time (10 minute talk + 5 minutes for questions).

If you are not a member of the Department of Oncology or the CIHR-STP and are interested in participating, please contact
Joanne Gribbon.

^Back to top


Gabe DiMattia , PhD (Co-Chair of Committee)
Eric Winquist, MD (Co-Chair of Committee)
Joe Mymryk, PhD (Past-Chair)
Joanne Gribbon (Coordinator, CaRTT Program)
Eugene Wong, PhD
Harry Prapavessis, PhD
Lynne Postovit, PhD
Fred Dick, PhD

^Back to top


Oral Presentation Winners:

  • Courtney Coschi
  • Rohann Correa

Oral Presentation Winners




Poster Presentation Winners:

AM Session:

  • Mike Lizardo
  • Ericka Weibe
  • Lori Lowes
  • Ady Abdellatif
  • Hazem Al-Aabed
  • Laura Fung

PM Session:

  • Teresa Peart
  • Alysha Croker
  • Matthew Cecchini
  • Jai Ablack
  • Daniela Quail
  • Saman Maleki Vareki


Poster Award Winners(Left to right): Mike Lizardo, Ericka Weibe, Lori Lowes, Ady Abdellatif, Hazem Al-Aabed


Poster Award Winners

(Left to right): Teresa Peart, Alysha Croker, Matthew Cecchini, Jai Ablack, Daniela Quail, Saman Maleki Vareki, Dr. Jerry Battista (Poster judge)

^Back to top



Also from this web page: