Purpose: This Award is to recognize an individual who has or a group of individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the development, support and/or furtherance of the Association’s aims and objectives.

Criteria: The Distinguished Service Award will be given by the Association of Canadian College and University Ombudspersons from time to time to members who have made outstanding contributions to the profession and/or the Association.

Applications: The deadline for nominations will be established on an annual basis by the Association Executive.

Selection: Nominations must be received in writing and signed by two nominators. It is essential that detailed support for all relevant criteria be supplied by the nominators for the candidate to be considered. Selection will be made by the Association Executive.

Presentation: The presentation will be made at the Association’s Annual General Meeting or other appropriate occasion agreed upon by the Association Executive.


The following people have won awards:

Shelley Lancaster Shelley Lancaster
February 2013
Distinguished Service Award


Kristen Robillard
May 2010
Special Contribution Award
Josef Leidenfrost Josef Leidenfrost
May 2010
Official Friend of ACCUO

Presented with an inukshuk carving at the First Joint ENOHE-ACCUO Conference in Vienna, Austria.
Ian Darling Ian Darling
April 2009
Special Contribution Award

Ian Darling accepts the Special Contribution Award from Martine Conway

Maire-Jose Rivest Marie-José Rivest
May 2008
Distinguished Service Award
Frances Bauer Frances Bauer
May 2004
Distinguished Service Award
Elizabeth (Liz) Hoffman Elizabeth (Liz) Hoffman
September 2001
The Distinguished Service Award

About Liz
OLA's Africa Project - The Elizabeth Hoffman Community Centre in Kenya
Suzanne Belson Suzanne Belson
June 2000
The Distinguished Service Award