National Centre for Audiology

Faculty and staff

Prudence Allen

Prudence Allen

Director, National Centre for Audiology; Associate Professor, School of Communication Sciences & Disorders

Research Interests / Specializations: Director, Child Hearing Research Laboratory
EC2262C
519-661-2111 ext. 88944
pallen@uwo.ca
Biography
Sumit Agrawal

Sumit Agrawal

Assistant Professor, Dept of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry

LHSC-UH B1 - 333
519-685-8500 ext. 33568
sumit.agrawal@lhsc.on.ca

Chris Allan

Chris Allan

Clinical Supervisor & Research audiologist, School of Communication Sciences & Disorders, Faculty of Health Sciences

Research Interests / Specializations: Co-Project Coordinator, Clinical Hearing Research Laboratory
EC1217
519-661-2111 ext. 88968
callan@nca.uwo.ca

Brian Allman

Brian Allman

Assistant Professor, Schulich School of Medicine

470 Medical Sciences Building
519-661-2111 Ext. 88689
brian.allman@schulich.uwo.ca

External link
Marlene Bagatto

Marlene Bagatto

Research Associate/Adjunct Research Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Instrumentation and calibration, Pediatric audiology, Hearing aids, Early intervention programs
Teaching: Hearing Technologies, Clinical-Professional
EC2262J
519-661-2111 ext. 88949
bagatto@nca.uwo.ca
Biography
External link
Steve Beaulac

Steve Beaulac

Systems Support Specialist

EC1216
519-661-2111 ext. 88987
steve@nca.uwo.ca

Christine Brown

Christine Brown

Audiologist, School of Communication Sciences & Disorders, Faculty of Health Sciences

Research Interests / Specializations: Infant Hearing Program
EC 1501A
519-661-2111 ext. 88188
clbrown@uwo.ca

Blake  Butler

Blake Butler

Research Scientist & Adjunct Research Professor, Department of Psychology

Research Interests / Specializations: Auditory system development, Cortical neuroanatomy, Crossmodal plasticity following deafness
SSC 9242
(519) 661-2111 x80485
bbutler9@uwo.ca

External link
Janis Oram-Cardy

Janis Oram-Cardy

Assistant Professor, School of Communication Sciences & Disorders, Faculty of Health Sciences

EC 2517
519-661-2111 ext. 88000
joramcar@uwo.ca

Margaret Cheesman

Margaret Cheesman

Associate Professor, School of Communication Sciences & Disorders; Director, Hearing Science Laboratory

Research Interests / Specializations: Speech perception, auditory aging, hearing conservation
EC2262F
519-661-2111 ext. 80032
cheesman@uwo.ca

External link
Mathias Dietz

Mathias Dietz

Associate Professor; Director, Binaural Laboratory

Research Interests / Specializations: Binaural Interaction Cochlear Implants Spatial Hearing Auditory Neuroscience Binaural Models
Room 2262F, Elborn College
519 661-2111 x88258
mdietz@uwo.ca

External link
Viji  Easwar

Viji Easwar

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Research Interests / Specializations: Objective outcome measures of children with hearing loss who wear hearing aids and/or use cochlear implants
Elborn College
519-661-2111 x 80480
veaswar@nca.uwo.ca
Biography
Paula Folkeard

Paula Folkeard

Research Audiologist/Project Coordinator, Translational Research Unit

Research Interests / Specializations: Product and procedure evaluation, adult amplification, assistive listening devices, and outcome measures
EC1220
519-661-2111 ext. 88936
folkeard@nca.uwo.ca

Danielle Glista

Danielle Glista

Research Associate / Adjunct Research Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Hearing aid fitting, Hearing aid signal processing, Aided outcome measurement
Teaching: Pediatric Amplification, Professional Practice, Practical Workshops
RM 2593
519-661-2111 ext. 88913
daglista@nca.uwo.ca
Biography
David Grainger

David Grainger

Technical Specialist

EC1216
519-661-2111 ext. 86054
dgrainge@nca.uwo.ca

Mary Beth Jennings

Mary Beth Jennings

Associate Professor, School of Communication Sciences & Disorders

Research Interests / Specializations: Director, HearCare Audiologic Rehabilitation Laboratory and Hearing Accessibility and Assistive Technologies Laboratory
Teaching: CSD 9531y: Aural (Re)habilitation: Theory to Practice CSD 9532a: Counseling
EC2262G
519-661-2111 ext. 88451
jennings@nca.uwo.ca

Ingrid Johnsrude

Ingrid Johnsrude

Western Research Chair and Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences and Social Science

Research Interests / Specializations: Auditory perceptual organization, auditory attention, cognitive neuroscience of speech and hearing, knowledge-based perception of speech; speech listening in adverse conditions
Biography: Jointly appointed to Department of Psychology and Brain and Mind Institute
EC 2596
519-661-2111 x84447
ijohnsru@uwo.ca

External link
Lucy Kieffer

Lucy Kieffer

Administrative & Financial Officer

EC2262A
519-661-2111 ext. 88238
kieffer@nca.uwo.ca

Hanif Ladak

Hanif Ladak

Associate Professor, Dept of Medical Biophysics, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry

MSB M403
519-661-2111 ext. 86551
hladak@uwo.ca

Stephen Lomber

Stephen Lomber

Associate Professor, Dept of Physiology & Pharmacology and Psychology

SSC 9232
519-661-2111 ext. 24110
steve.lomber@uwo.ca

Ewan A. Macpherson

Ewan A. Macpherson

Associate Professor, School of Communication Sciences & Disorders, Co-project coordinator, Anechoic chamber, reverberation chamber, and Hearing Science Laboratory

Research Interests / Specializations: Audiological and psychoacoustic research
EC2262B
519-661-2111 ext. 88072
ewan.macpherson@nca.uwo.ca

Sheila Moodie

Sheila Moodie

Assistant Professor, School of Communication Sciences & Disorders, Director, Family Centred Care Laboratory and Knowledge Translation Laboratory

Research Interests / Specializations: Integrated Knowledge Translation, Moving evidence into clinical practice, Changing practice behaviour / implementation science, Family support & education for children with hearing loss
Teaching: Introduction to hearing aids & assistive listening devices, Preparing for professional practice, Evidence-based practice
EC2262K
519-661-2111 ext. 88259
sheila@nca.uwo.ca
Biography
Lorne Parnes

Lorne Parnes

Medical/Surgical Director, London Health Sciences Hearing Implant Program, Professor, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry

London Health Sciences Centre - University Hospital
519.663.3604

Vijay Parsa

Vijay Parsa

Associate Professor, School of Communication Sciences & Disorders and Electrical & Computer Engineering; Director, Digital Signal Processing Lab

EC2262E
519-661-2111 ext. 88947
parsa@nca.uwo.ca

David Purcell

David Purcell

Associate Professor, Director, Speech, Auditory Feedback, and Evoked Responses Laboratory (SAFER)

Research Interests / Specializations: Processing of sound in the human auditory system, links between processing of one’s own speech sounds and the maintenance of speech production.
EC2262D
519-661-2111 ext. 80435
purcelld@nca.uwo.ca
Biography
External link
Frances Richert

Frances Richert

Clinical Audiologist, School of Communication Sciences & Disorders, Faculty of Health Sciences

EC 1231C
519-661-2111 ext. 88924
frichert@uwo.ca

Susan Scollie

Susan Scollie

Associate Professor, School of Communication Sciences and Disorders, Director, Child Amplification Laboratory

Research Interests / Specializations: Pediatric amplification, Hearing aid signal processing, Outcome measures
Teaching: Hearing Technologies, Instrumentation, Calibration, Pediatric Audiology and Early Intervention, ofessional Practice
EC2262H
519-661-2111 ext. 88948
scollie@nca.uwo.ca
Biography
External link
Richard Seewald

Richard Seewald

Distinguished University Professor Emeritus & Adjunct Research Professor, School of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Research Interests / Specializations: Advisory Board Member, Hear the World Foundation, Switzerland
Susan Stanton

Susan Stanton

Associate Professor, School of Communication Sciences & Disorders

Research Interests / Specializations: Director, Human Auditory Phenotyping & Genetics Laboratory
EC2262L
519-661-2111 ext. 80418
stanton@nca.uwo.ca

External link