Soil

Environment and Sustainability Research

The Centre for Environment and Sustainability (C.E.S.) was formed in recognition of Western’s dedication to, and support for, environmental studies. Dynamic growth in the areas of environmental and sustainable research across a broad spectrum of disciplines necessitated a need to consolidate of research talent into a single collective and foster environmental education.

The C.E.S., a collaborative of internationally acclaimed researchers from the Faculties of Science, Engineering, Social Science, Arts and Humanities, Information and Media Studies, The Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, The Richard Ivey School of Business and The Faculty of Law, as well as other environmental groups and affiliates across the Western campus, provides a vital stage for the exchange of interdisciplinary research and perspectives.

Researchers bring an impressive scope of expertise as they respond to the great challenges faced by today’s environmental researchers, including water, energy, renewable resources, ecosystem health, and sustainable business practices. Degree programs in Environment and Sustainability are offered at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Research Profiles

Trick

Shrubsole

Webb

Creed

Moser

OCarroll

Bansal

Research Faculty

Science

Name (Website) Department Email
Geoff Wild Applied Math gwild@uwo.ca
Brian Branfireun Biology bbranfir@uwo.ca
Irena Creed Biology icreed@uwo.ca
Hugh Henry Biology hhenry4@uwo.ca
Nusha Keyghobadi Biology nkeyghob@uwo.ca
Zoe Lindo Biology zlindo@uwo.ca
Sheila Macfie Biology smacfie@uwo.ca
Jeremy McNeil Biology jmcneil2@uwo.ca
Louise Milligan Biology milligan@uwo.ca
Yolanda Morbey Biology ymorbey@uwo.ca
Bryan Neff Biology bneff@uwo.ca
Brent Sinclair Biology bsincla7@uwo.ca
Jim Staples Biology jfstaple@uwo.ca
Edward Topp Biology/Agriculture Canada etopp@uwo.ca
Greg Thorn Biology rgthorn@uwo.ca
Charlie Trick Biology cyano@uwo.ca
Liana Zanette Biology lzanette@uwo.ca
Ronald Martin Chemistry rrhm@uwo.ca
David Shoesmith Chemistry dwshoesm@uwo.ca
Mike Katchabaw Computer Science mkatchab@uwo.ca
Nazim Madhavji Computer Science nmadhavj@uwo.ca
Brian Hart Earth Sciences/Surface Science Western bhart@uwo.ca
Stephen Hicock Earth Sciences shicock@uwo.ca
Fred Longstaffe Earth Sciences flongsta@uwo.ca
Katrina Moser Earth Sciences kmoser@uwo.ca
Robert Schincariol Earth Sciences schincar@uwo.ca
Kristy Tiampo Earth Sciences ktiampo@uwo.ca
Elizabeth Webb Earth Sciences ewebb5@uwo.ca
Silvia Mittler Physics and Astronomy smittler@uwo.ca
Robert Sica Physics and Astronomy sica@uwo.ca

 

Social Science

Name (Website) Department Email
Ian Colquhoun Anthropology colquhou@uwo.ca
Regna Darnell Anthropology rdarnell@uwo.ca
Lisa Hodgetts Anthropology lisa.hodgetts@uwo.ca
Dan Jorgensen Anthropology dwj@uwo.ca
Karen Pennesi Anthropology pennesi@uwo.ca
Adriana Premat Anthropology apremat@uwo.ca
Andrew Walsh Anthropology awalsh33@uwo.ca
Christine White Anthropology white2@uwo.ca
Jim Davies Economics jdavies@uwo.ca
Jim MacGee Economics jmacgee@uwo.ca
John Whalley Economics jwhalley@uwo.ca
Peter Ashmore Geography pashmore@uwo.ca
Jamie Baxter Geography jbaxter6@uwo.ca
Michael Buzzelli Geography mbuzzel@uwo.ca
Jason Gilliland Geography jgillila@uwo.ca
Issac Luginaah Geography issac.luginaah@uwo.ca
Brian Luckman Geography luckman@uwo.ca
Gordon McBean Geography gmcbean@uwo.ca
Micha Pazner Geography pazner@uwo.ca
Joy Parr Geography jparr@uwo.ca
Dan Shrubsole Geography dashrubs@uwo.ca
Chris Smart Geography csmart@uwo.ca
Marco Van De Wiel Geography mvandew3@uwo.ca
James Voogt Geography javoogt@uwo.ca
Jinfei Wang Geography jfwang@uwo.ca
Anthony Weis Geography aweis@uwo.ca
Alan MacEachern History amaceach@uwo.ca
William Turkel History wturkel@uwo.ca
Radoslav Dimitrov Political Science rdimitro@uwo.ca
Scott Macdougall-Shackleton Psychology smacdou2@uwo.ca
Jerry White Sociology white@uwo.ca

 

Engineering

Name (Website) Department Email
Amarjeet Bassi Chemical and Biochemical Engineering abassi@uwo.ca
Dimitre Karamanev Chemical and Biochemical Engineering dkaraman@uwo.ca
Argyrios Margaritis Chemical and Biochemical Engineering amargari@uwo.ca
George Nakhla Chemical and Biochemical Engineering gnakhla@uwo.ca
Madhumita Bhowmick Ray Chemical and Biochemical Engineering mbhowmic@uwo.ca
Jingxu Zhu Chemical and Biochemical Engineering jzhu@uwo.ca
Raouf Baddour Civil and Environmental Engineering rbaddour@uwo.ca
Hesham El Naggar Civil and Environmental Engineering melnagga@uwo.ca
Jason Gerhard Civil and Environmental Engineering jgerhard@uwo.ca
Horia Hangan Civil and Environmental Engineering hmhangan@uwo.ca
Denis O'Carroll Civil and Environmental Engineering docarrol@uwo.ca
Clare Robinson Civil and Environmental Engineering crobinson@eng.uwo.ca
Slobodan Simonovic Civil and Environmental Engineering simonov@uwo.ca
Ernest Yanful Civil and Environmental Engineering eyanful@uwo.ca
Jin Jiang Electrical and Computer Engineering jjiang@uwo.ca
Weiming Shen Electrical and Computer Engineering wshen@uwo.ca
Rajiv Varma Electrical and Computer Engineering rkvarma@uwo.ca
Roberto Canas Mechanical and Materials Engineering rcanas@uwo.ca
Kamran Siddiqui Mechanical and Materials Engineering ksiddiq@uwo.ca
Chao Zhang Mechanical and Materials Engineering czhang3@uwo.ca

 

Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry

Name (Website) Department Email
Jack Bend Pathology jack.bend@schulich.uwo.ca
Susan Koval Microbiology and Immunology skoval@uwo.ca
Edmund Lui Physiology and Pharmacology elui@uwo.ca
Charlie Trick Microbiology and Immunology cyano@uwo.ca

 

Richard Ivey School Of Business

Name (Website) Department Email
Pratima (Tima) Bansal Strategy tbansal@ivey.uwo.ca
Oana Branzei Strategy obranzei@ivey.uwo.ca
Robert Klassen Operations Management rklassen@ivey.uwo.ca
Fredrik Odegaard Management Science fodegaard@ivey.uwo.ca
David Sharp Managerial Accounting and Control dsharp@ivey.uwo.ca
Mike Valente Strategy mvalente@ivey.uwo.ca

 

Other Faculties

Name (Website) Department Email
Gillian Barker Philosophy gbarker5@uwo.ca
Paula Dworatzek Food and Nutrition pdworatz@uwo.ca
Ken Kirkwood Health Sciences kkirkwo2@uwo.ca
Joshua Schuster English jschust@uwo.ca
Sara Seck Law sseck@uwo.ca
Samuel Trosow Law/Information and Media Studies strosow@uwo.ca

 

 

This page was last updated on September 27, 2011
Centre for Environment and Sustainability Web Contact: hsanders@uwo.ca