Alfred Poynt Award in Poetry

Submissions closed for 2017

In the spirit of stimulating the imagination, promoting creativity, and fostering appreciation of English language skills and the art of poetry, the Department of English and Writing Studies is pleased to offer the annual Alfred Poynt Award in Poetry made in accordance with the wishes and through the generosity of the late Alfred R. Poynt of London, Ontario.

Who is eligible?
Participants must be full-time students registered in any undergraduate (baccalaureate) program at Western University, including Affiliates. Previous first-prize winners are not eligible.

Prizes available
Presented in May of each year, the winning entry will receive a prize of $350.00.

Submission deadline
Poems must be submitted/postmarked no later than March 31, 2017. The winner will be notified by mail no later than May.

Submission and judging criteria

  1. Poems must be in English and may use any style of poetry.
  2. Poems will be judged for their originality and for their use of form and technique, traditional or contemporary, in a skilful and creative way to create or intensify themes or effects.
  3. Total entry not to exceed 4 pages. Maximum 150 lines. Entries might be one longer poem or several shorter poems.
  4. Entries must be original, titled, previously unpublished, and not currently under evaluation for publication.
  5. Poems must be typed on 8.5 x 11 paper in 12-point type.
  6. Entries cannot be returned. Entrants retain their copyright.
  7. Submission must include a cover page marked Poynt Competition with the following information:
    • your name
    • student number
    • permanent mailing address
    • telephone number
    • email address
    • title of poem(s)
    • do not include your name on the poem page
    • no staples
  8. Submissions will be numbered and coded before the judging by a contest organizer who is not a judge.

How to submit entries
Entries to be submitted in hard copy to: Poynt Competition, Department of English and Writing Studies, 2G02 Arts & Humanities Building, Western University.

2017 Judges
Adjudication will be done by a volunteer panel of published writers from London and/or the University community selected by the competition organizer. The decision of the judges will be final. This year’s panel is comprised of Matthew Godden, Angie Quick, and Andy Verboom.

Andy Verboom hails from sub-rural Nova Scotia and currently resides in London, where he organizes Couplets, a collaborative poetry reading series, and edits the Word Hoard, a literature and humanities journal. His poetry has won the Descant/Winston Collins Prize for Best Canadian Poem, has been shortlisted for Arc’s Poem of the Year, and has recently appeared in Vallum, The Puritan, Arc Poetry Magazine, Contemporary Verse 2, and BafterC. He is the author of Tower (Anstruther Press) and co-author (with David Huebert) of Full Mondegreens, a winner of the Frog Hollow Press Chapbook Contest.

Matthew Godden is a London-based editor, ghostwriter, and writing coach. His own writing has appeared in a number of Canadian publications. He's worked in the Canadian publishing industry since 1999.

Angie Quick is a resident artist at the ARTS Project. She is known for her large oil paintings which explore flesh in a historical and contemporaneous manner. Her practice experiments with the nature of language within both a visual and preformative context. She has performed at WORDS London, ON as well as recording her poetry with the band New Zebra Kid. She has also performed at a Print London Fundraiser, the LOFT, Good Sport, EVAC and Call the Office. She has recently participated in the group show Portraits, self, and others: it’s complicated at the McIntosh Gallery while also receiving an emerging artist grant from the Ontario Arts Council with project funding from the London Arts Council. She is currently preparing for a solo show, Having been loved, at the ARTS Project, May 23rd-27th

Past Winners

Year First prize Honourable Mention
2017 Marta Croll-Baehre Hilary Doyle
2016 Emma Croll-Baehre Marta Croll-Baehre
2015 Sakariya Ahmed Robyn Obermeyer
2014 Katherine O’Reilly Robyn Obermeyer
2013 Kerrie McNair Alex Carey
2012 Laura Johnson Erin Lamotte
2011 Mark MacKichan John Vincent
2010 Millie Ho John Vincent
2009 Saiyid Hasan Malory Smith