Illustrations


 

“Aerial Drawing of Brantford showing the Brantford Canal in 1875.” In Bruce Emerson Hill, The Grand River Navigation Company (Brantford: Brant Historical Publications, 1994).

“Aerial View of Fort Henry (taken from an aeroplane).” From Bishop Barker Co., Library and National Archives Canada (1919) (np).

“A Grist Mill,” illustration by C.W Jefferys. In C.W Jefferys, The Picture Gallery of Canadian History (Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1945) (183).

“A Laborer’s Cottage,” (Figure 5), illustration from Andrew Jackson Downing, The Architecture of Country Houses (1850) (facing page 73).

“Al Purdy” http://www.whitbys.bc.ca/htm/abtprdy.htm

“A New Map of North America, From the Latest Discoveries.” In Jonathan Carver, Travels Through the Interior Parts of North-America, in the Years 1766, 1767, and 1768. (1778) (Toronto: Coles, 1974) (np).

“An Eye Sketch of the Falls of Niagara,” engraving by Isaac Weld. In Isaac Weld, Travels through the States of North America. (1808) (New York: Johnson Reprint, 1968) (2: 119).

“Annacis Island Restaurant,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (132).

“Apartments near Stanley Park,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (126).

“A Plan of the City of Quebec.” In Isaac Weld, Travels through the States of North America, Vol. I (1807) (New York: Johnson Reprint, 1968) (343).

“Archer” http://www.city.toronto.on.ca/toronto_history/images/archer.jpg

“Arctic Science (or Igloolik) Research Centre in Igloolik, Nunavut.” Photographer unidentified.

“Bank of Nova Scotia,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (138).

“B.C. Electric Building, Vancouver,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (135).

“B.C. Electric Building, Victoria,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (138).

“B.C. Electric, Vancouver,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (121).

“B.C. Sugar Refinery Bulk and Storage Warehouse No.1,” photograph by Jack Cash. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (131).

“Bloor Street Viaduct” http://www.city.toronto.on.ca/archives/images/sc_231_40_large.jpg

“Bobak Residence,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (125).

“Bonsecours Market” http://www.marchebonsecours.qc.ca/hist/eng/hist1.htm

“Broadway Bridge” http://www.tourismsaskatoon.com/gallery/images/40.JPG

“Brock’s Monument. Queenston Heights,” sketch by J.F. Bouchette. In Joseph Bouchette The British Dominions in North America. (London: H. Colburn and R. Bentley, 1831) (61).

Building on the site chosen for the Catholic Cathedral,” illustrated by J.R. Seavey. In Mrs. Dick-Lauder et al., Pen and Pencil Sketches of Wentworth Landmarks (Hamilton: The Spectator, 1897) (122).

“Burning of the Market-House 1865” http://www.geocities.com/kingstonmarket/dir1865burn.html

“Burning of the Parliament buildings, Montreal in 1849” http://www.canadiana.org/citm/imagepopups/c073717_e.html

“Burrard Building,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (136).

“Cataract of Niagara,” painted by Richard Wilson; engraving by William Byrne. From a drawing taken on the spot by Lt. Pierie of the Royal Artillery, 1678. In Charles Mason Dow, Anthology and Bibliography of Niagara Falls (Albany: J.B. Lyon, 1921) (1:181).

“Cedarvale Elementary School,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (140).

“Château Frontenac, 1893,” courtesy of the Canadian Pacific Railway Co. In Joan E. Morgan, Castle of Quebec (Toronto: J.M. Dent & Sons, 1949) (np).

“Civic Centre, Kitimat,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (122).

“CKWX Radio Station,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (145).

Clarence Decatur Howe - Minister of Transport (1936) and Minister of Munitions and Supply (1940),” photograph created by Fayer. From the Library and National Archives of Canada (1942) (np).

“Clearing Land, about 1830,” illustration by C.W Jefferys. In C.W Jefferys, The Picture Gallery of Canadian History (Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1945) (221). 

“CN Tower.” In Ontario, Industry, Trade, Tourism Review 1973-1976 (Ontario: Ministry of Industry and Tourism. Communications Division, 1977) (73).

“Colonel Talbot’s Residence, Port Talbot, from an old painting in possession of Mrs. Macbeth.” In C.O. Ermatinger, The Talbot Regime (St. Thomas: The Municipal World, 1904) (34).

“Commercial Bank of Scotland” http://www.glasgowguide.co.uk/gpages/glasgow-bank2z.htm

“Completed Bridge from Chaudiere Wharf.” In The St. Lawrence Bridge Company, The Quebec bridge: carrying the transcontinental line of the Canadian government railways over the St. Lawrence River near the city of Quebec, Canada (Quebec: s.n., 1918) (103).

“C.P.A. Hangar, Vancouver,” photograph courtesy of Canadian Pacific Airlines. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (133).

“Cromie Pool,” photograph by Selwyn Pullan. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (127).

“Dean Collapses in Exhaustion,” photograph by Marilyn Westlake. In Michael Dean and Steven Smith, Science Takes Leap from Top of CN Tower: The Back-of-Own-Head Experiment (Toronto: L’Affaire Pataphysique, 1985) (9).

“D. Simpson Residence,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (125).

“Dominion Square http://collections.ic.gc.ca/montreal/img/d258.jpg

“Dr. David Hellyer’s Beach Cabin.” Leisure Time Homes of Fir Ply Wood, 1958. In Chad Randl A-Frame. (New York: Princeton Architectural, 2004) (89).

“Early Churches in Upper Canada,” illustration by C.W Jefferys. In C.W Jefferys, The Picture Gallery of Canadian History (Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1945) (75).

“Edinburgh New Town” http://www.aboutscotland.com/edin/newtownph/charlotte.jpeg

“Elevations of Water Grist Mill.” In C.W Jefferys, The Picture Gallery of Canadian History (Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1945) (83).

“Empire Stadium,” photograph by Selwyn Pullan. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (143).

“Entrance to Welland Canal—Port Colborne,” artist: Schell & Hogan; engraving by F. Geyer. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (382).

“Episcopal Church” http://www.uoguelph.ca/history/urban/article5_fig-20.html

“Essex County Court House, Sandwich” http://www.countyofessex.on.ca/history_early3.html

“Factory Buildings, Annacis Island,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (132).

“Falls of Lorette,” artist: L.R. O’Brien; engraving by T. Johnson. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (90).

“Fifteen Years in the Bush,” illustration by J.C. McLagan. In John Macoun, Manitoba and the Great North-west: the Field for Investment; the Home of the Emigrant, being a Full and Complete History of the Country (Guelph: World Publishing Company, 1882) (182).

“First Year in the Bush,” illustration by J.C. McLagan. In John Macoun, Manitoba and the Great North-west: the Field for Investment; the Home of the Emigrant, being a Full and Complete History of the Country (Guelph: World Publishing Company, 1882) (48).

“Fort George,” illustration by John Burniak. In K. McCabe, ed., The Poetry of Old Niagara (St. Catharines: Blarney Stone Press, 1996) (27).

“Fortifications of Québec National Historic Site of Canada”
http://canadaonline.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?site=http%3A//www.parkscanada.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/qc/fortifications/index_E.asp

“Fort Mississauga, Niagara-on-the-Lake,” illustration by John Burniak. In K. McCabe, ed., The Poetry of Old Niagara (St. Catharines: Blarney Stone Books, 1999) (36).

“Fort Niagara from Fort George,” illustration by B.J. Lossing. In C.W. Jefferys, The Picture Gallery of Canadian History Vol. 2 (1763-1830) (Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1945) (160).

“Free-Time Homes.” Cover of Free-Time Homes, 1962. In Chad Randl A-Frame. (New York: Princeton Architectural, 2004) (95).

“Friedman Residence,” photograph by Selwyn Pullan. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (125).

“General Brock’s Monument, above Kingston,” engraving from drawing by W.H. Bartlett in N.P. Willis, Canadian Scenery Illustrated (London: James S. Virtue, 1842) (facing 1:61). (Courtesy of Special Collections, D.B. Weldon Library, University of Western Ontario.)

“General View of Niagara from the Canadian Side,” from a lithograph of a sketch by J. Milbert, 1818. In Charles Mason Dow, Anthology and Bibliography of Niagara Falls, Vol. 2 (New York: J.B. Lyon Company, 1921) (450).

Graves of Henry Lamb, his wife and his brother Major Lamb,” illustrated by J.R. Seavey. In Mrs. Dick-Lauder et al., Pen and Pencil Sketches of Wentworth Landmarks (Hamilton: The Spectator, 1897) (120).

“Great Fire of London Monument” http://www.alan.rowe.freeuk.com/Copyright_Images/pix_n/england/p7101640_e1.jpg

“Grist Mill Mechanism,” illustration by C.W Jefferys. In C.W Jefferys, The Picture Gallery of Canadian History (Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1945) (84).

“Harry McCreath’s Log House.” In Gavin Hamilton Green, The Old Log House: Bygone Days in Our Villages. Goderich: Signal-Star Press,1948) (16).

“Head Office Building, Montreal, Exterior View.” In The Bank of Montreal, The Centenary of the Bank of Montreal, 1817-1917 (Montreal: The Bank of Montreal, 1917) (frontis.).

“Health & Welfare Building,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (139).

“Here at the foot of Toronto’s CN Tower, team members contemplate with awe, the magnitude of the experiment they are about to conduct,” photograph by Marilyn Westlake. In Michael Dean and Steven Smith, Science Takes Leap from Top of CN Tower: The Back-of-Own-Head Experiment (Toronto: L’Affaire Pataphysique, 1985) (6).

“Highlands United Church,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (128).

“HMCS Naden” http://home.cogeco.ca/~heart-of-oak/naden/naden.html

“Holy Trinity Anglican Cathedral” http://www.a-zoftourism.com/Historical+Buildings-in-Quebec-id8754-p0.htm

“Image of Acadia,” In Roméo Cormier, photographer, Image of Acadia (Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1980) (frontis.).

“Indians and Squaws of Lower Canada,” illustration by C. Krieghoff. In F. St. George Spendlove, The Face of Early Canada (Toronto: The Ryerson Press, 1958) (plate 109).

“Indian wigwam in Lower Canada,” illustration by C. Krieghoff. In F. St. George Spendlove, The Face of Early Canada (Toronto: The Ryerson Press, 1958) (plate 110).

“Interior British Columbia,” photograph uncredited. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (147).

“Interior of Grist Mill, showing Crane for Lifting Upper Stone,” illustration by C.W Jefferys. In C.W Jefferys, The Picture Gallery of Canadian History (Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1945) (85).

“In the Gardens of the Ursuline Convent,” artist: F.B. Schell; engraving by A. Hayman. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (14).

“Isle Aux Coudres, and the St. Lawrence, From Les Eboulements,” artist: L. R. O’Brien; engravings by R. Varley. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is. 2 vols. (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (384).

“Jesuits’ College and Church, Quebec, 1759,” engraving by R. Short. In F. St. George Spendlove, The Face of Early Canada (Toronto: The Ryerson Press, 1958) (np).

“J. Shadbolt Residence,” photograph by Selwyn Pullan. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (124).

“Kensington Market” http://www.boldts.net/Tor4.shtml

“Kerrisdale Roman Catholic Church,” photograph by Selwyn Pullan. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (130).

“King and St. Laurent.” In H. Reginald Hardy, Mackenzie King of Canada (Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1949) (np).

“Kwakiutl Indian Village,” photograph courtesy of the Department of Education, Government of B.C. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (123).

“La fondation du Seigniory Club.” In Jacques Lamarche, Au coeur de la Petite-Nation: Le Château Montebello (Ottawa: Les Éditions de la Petite-Nation, 1984) (87).

“La Place des Arts.” In Laurent Duval, coordinateur, Place des Arts (Montréal: Librairie Beauchemin, 1970) (frontis.).

“La Porte Hope, (Démolie en 1873.).” In J.M. LeMoine, Histoire des fortifications et des rues de Québec (Québec: Canadien, 1875).

“La Porte Saint-Louis, (Démolie en août 1871.).” In J.M. LeMoine, Histoire des fortifications et des rues de Québec (Québec: Canadien, 1875) (12).

“Le Château Montebello.” In Jacques Lamarche, Au coeur de la Petite-Nation: Le Château Montebello (Ottawa: Les Éditions de la Petite-Nation, 1984) (cover).

“Le Château s’élève graduellement.” In Jacques Lamarche, Au coeur de la Petite-Nation: Le Château Montebello (Ottawa: Les Éditions de la Petite-Nation, 1984) (101).

“Le Parthénon,” photograph courtesy of Editions Albert Morancé. In Gustave Fougères, L’Acropole d’Athènes; Le Parthénon (Paris: Éditions A. Morancé, c.1910) (1: np).

“Les billes et les chevrons s’étalent.” In Jacques Lamarche, Au coeur de la Petite-Nation: Le Château Montebello (Ottawa: Les Éditions de la Petite-Nation, 1984) (101).

“Lester B. Pearson- Prime Minister of Canada (1963-1968),” photograph by Ashley-Crippen Studio. From the Library and National Archives of Canada. (1965) (np).

“Lock No. 1, New Welland Canal,” artist: Schell & Hogan; engravings by T.L. Smart. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (385).

“Log Cabin,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (144).

“Log House Construction,” illustration by C.W Jefferys. In C.W Jefferys, The Picture Gallery of Canadian History (Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1945) (30).

“London District Court House, London, as originally designed in 1827 by John Ewart,” photograph by John Kyle O’Connor, 1875. In Nancy Z. Tausky and Lynne D. DiStefano, Victorian Architecture in London and Southwestern Ontario: Symbols of Aspiration (Toronto: U of Toronto P, 1986) (28).

“Looking Towards Lake Ontario, from the Heights Near Queenston,” artist: L.R. O’Brien; engraving by A. Lockhardt. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (394).

“Louisburg,” artist: Schell & Hogan; engravings by H. Miller. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is. 2 vols. (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (850).

“Lovick Building,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (137).

“Lumbermen’s Camp,” artist: Schell & Hogan; engraving by J.T. Speer. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (152).

“Main Buildings, Houses of Parliament,” artist: Schell & Hogan; engraving by C. Schawrzburger. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (183).

“Main St. Bridge, Welland, Welland Ship Canal, Canada.” In K. McCabe ed., The Poetry of Old Niagara (St. Catharines: Blarney Stone Books, 1999) (114).

“Maisonneuve monument” http://collections.ic.gc.ca/montreal/d235.html

“Map of Ameliasburg Township,” lithograph by Gorrell Craig and Co. Proprs. In H. Belden & Co. Illustrated Historical Atlas of the Counties of Hastings and Prince Edward Ontario. (Toronto: H. Belden & Co., 1878) (36-37).

“Martinique Hotel” http://home.nyc.gov/html/lpc/html/designation/summaries/martinique_large.html

“Marwell Building,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (136).

“McNab Residence,” photograph by Selwyn Pullan. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (126).

“Meeting at the Center of the Bridge for Dedication Ceremonies.” In A.W. Spear, The Peace Bridge 1927-1977 (Buffalo: The Buffalo and Fort Erie Public Bridge Authority, 1977) (48).

“Mercantile Bank,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (145).

“Mill Dam and Saw Mill,” sketches by P.Harry, W.P Kay and E.N. Kendall, lithographs by S. Russell. In C.W Jefferys, The Picture Gallery of Canadian History (Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1945) (185).

“Mission Church,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (130).

“Modern King’s Highway 401 Sign” http://www.thekingshighway.ca/Hwy401.htm

“Montebello—Home of Papineau,” artist: Schell & Hogan; engraving by R.E.E. Kunze. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (161).

“Montreal Court House” http://www.airynothing.com/photos/montreal/pics/om_courthouse.jpg

“Nathan Phillips Square” http://www.city.toronto.on.ca/city_hall_tour/nps.htm

“National Trust Building,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (137).

“Neighborhood Housing, Kitimat,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (122).

“Nelson’s Drive-In Laundry,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (133).

“Niagara Falls from the American Side,” from a lithograph of a sketch by J. Milbert, 1818. In Charles Mason Dow, Anthology and Bibliography of Niagara Falls, Vol. 2 (New York: J.B. Lyon Company, 1921) (390).

“Niagara River from Queenston Heights,” artist: T. Morgan; engraving by J.T. Speer. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (372).

“Notre Dame Cathedral” http://collections.ic.gc.ca/relig/ndamq/ndamqe03.htm

“Oak Street Bridge,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (132).

“Office Building for Gardiner, Thornton, Gathe & Associates,” photograph by Selwyn Pullan. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (139).

“Off Port Dalhousie,” artist: Schell & Hogan; engravings by H. Baker. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (384).

“Old Gates of Quebec,” sketches by A.J. Russell, drawings on stone by Sproule, lithographs by Bourne. In C.W Jefferys, The Picture Gallery of Canadian History (Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1945) (96-97).

“Old Queen’s Cupola” http://gsnb.rutgers.edu/images/OldQueensCupola.jpg

“Old seminary of Saint-Sulpice adjoining to the Notre-Dame de Montréal Basilica Residence of the Sulpicians since 1687” http://www.sulpc.org/hist_e.html

“One end of Bonsecours Market and Rasco’s Hotel” http://www.vieux.montreal.qc.ca/histoire/images/00_p20a.jpg

“On River Speed,” artist: F.B Schell; engraving by W. Mollier. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (469).

“On the Road to Sillery,” artist L.R. O’Brien; engravings by T.L. Smart. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (60).

“Opera House and surrounding area of Haussmann’s Paris” http://www.roland-collection.com/rolandcollection/section/30/402.htm

“Overlooking North Channel, From Grand Battery and Laval University,” artist: T. Moran; engraving by W.H. Redding. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (26).

“Owen Roblin’s Tombstone,” photograph by Bob Waller. In Al Purdy In Search of Owen Roblin. (Toronto: McClelland and Stewart, 1974) (31).

“Painting the suspender ropes, 1947,” photograph courtesy of the Detroit News, Burton Historical Collection of the Detroit Public Library. In Philip P. Mason, The Ambassador Bridge (Detroit: Wayne State UP, 1987) (163).

“Pantheon” http://www.greatbuildings.com/cgi-bin/gbi.cgi/Pantheon.html/cid_1349932.gbi

“Parliament Buildings” http://fc.lbpsb.qc.ca/~history/p2parlia.gif

“Perspective Elevation of Saw Mill.” In C.W Jefferys, The Picture Gallery of Canadian History (Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1945) (80).

“P.G.E. Station, North Vancouver,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (132).

“Photograph of the Phoenix Company’s bridge taken August 28, 1907, showing condition of the structure just previous to its failure.” In The St. Lawrence Bridge Company, The Quebec bridge: carrying the transcontinental line of the Canadian government railways over the St. Lawrence River near the city of Quebec, Canada (Quebec: s.n., 1918) (18).

“Photo-simulation of image seen by DEAN through SASER,” photograph by Marilyn Westlake. In Michael Dean and Steven Smith, Science Takes Leap from Top of CN Tower: The Back-of-Own-Head Experiment (Toronto: L’Affaire Pataphysique, 1985) (9).

“Pioneer,” photograph by Jack Cash. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (120).

“Plan of Water Grist Mill 1 1795.” In C.W Jefferys, The Picture Gallery of Canadian History (Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1945) (81).

“Plan of Water Grist Mill 2 1795.” In C.W Jefferys, The Picture Gallery of Canadian History (Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1945) (82).

“Potlatch Products in Free-Time Homes.” Advertisement in Free-Time Homes, 1962. In Chad Randl A-Frame. (New York: Princeton Architectural, 2004) (97).

“Posing for Posterity, the team focuses emotional support on DEAN and SASER in tense moments immediately preceding experiment. The power of the moment seems lost on FORTESQUE,” photograph by Marilyn Westlake. In Michael Dean and Steven Smith, Science Takes Leap from Top of CN Tower: The Back-of-Own-Head Experiment (Toronto: L’Affaire Pataphysique, 1985) (8).

“Quebec Expo 67” http://expo67.ncf.ca/expo_quebec_67_p2.html

“Queenston,” engravings by W.H. Bartlett. In F. St. George Spendlove, The Face of Early Canada (Toronto: The Ryerson Press, 1958) (plate 82).

“Residence of Colonel Light,” courtesy of the Ontario Archives. In Brian Dawe, “Old Oxford is WIDE AWAKE!” (Lindsay: John Deyell, 1980) (49).

“Rideau Canal” http://collections.ic.gc.ca/bytown/virtual_tour/engineering2.htm

“R. Nairne Residence,” photograph by Jack Cash. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (126).

“Roblin’s Mills, Ontario,” photograph by Bob Waller. In Al Purdy, In Search of Owen Roblin. (Toronto: McClelland and Stewart, 1974) (24).

“Sacred Heart Church,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (130).

“School in Chilliwack, B.C.,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (145).

“S.E. View of ‘Brock’s Monument’ on Queenston Heights as it appeared May 9th: A.D. 1841.” In Robert Malcomson, Burying General Brock: A History of Brock’s Monuments. (Canada: Peninsula Press, 1996) (21).

“Sir Guy Carleton in His Middle Years,” engraving by Alexander Hay Richie. In Paul David Nelson, General Sir Guy Carleton, Lord Dorchester: Soldier-Statesman of Early British Canada (London: Associated UP, 2000) (132).

“Sir Robert Taylor’s Rotunda, when used as a Stock Exchange. From a drawing by Thomas Rowlandson.” In John Giuseppi, The Bank of England (London: Evans Brothers, 1966).

“Situation de l’ Hôpital-Général par Rapport à Québec.” In Micheline D’Allaire, L’Hôpital-Général de Québec, 1692-1764 (Montreal: Fides, 1971) (46).

“Six Years After Settlement on the Prairie,” illustration by J.C. McLagan. In John Macoun, Manitoba and the Great North-west: the Field for Investment; the Home of the Emigrant, being a Full and Complete History of the Country (Guelph: World Publishing Company, 1882) (212).

“Stanley Park Penguin Pool,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (146).

“St. Roch’s Suburbs and Old Arsenal,” artist L.R. O’Brien; engravings by A. Hayman. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (17).

“Sunset on Lake Ontario.” In K. McCabe ed., The Poetry of Old Niagara (St. Catharines: Blarney Stone Books, 1999) (76).

“Supply Building, H.M.C.S. Naden,” photograph courtesy of the Department of National Defence. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (133).

“‘The beautiful and stately structure fulfills the fondest hope ...,” courtesy of the Museum of the City of New York. In David McCullough, The Great Bridge (New York: Simon and Schuster, 1972) (433).

“The Bishop’s House with the Ruins, Quebec, 1759,” engravings by R. Short. In F. St. George Spendlove, The Face of Early Canada: Pictures of Canada which have Helped to Make History. (Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1958), plate 13.

“The Britannia Bridge over the Menai Straits.” From C. Tomlinson, ed., Cyclopaedia of Useful Arts (London, 1868), 1: 242. In Nathan Rosenberg and Walter G. Vincenti, The Britannia Bridge (Cambridge: The MIT Press, 1978) (10).

“The celebrations at Brock’s Monument drew crowds of people who marvelled at William Thomas’ magnificent structure.” In Robert Malcomson, Burying General Brock: A History of Brock’s Monuments. (Canada: Peninsula Press, 1996) (41).

“The Colosseum.” In Ada Gabucci, Ancient Rome: Art, architecture and history, eds. Stefano Peccatori and Stefano Zuffi, trans. T.M. Hartmann (2000) (Los Angeles: Getty, 2002) (42).

“The Infirmary Wing from the Garden,” photograph by Ramsay Traquair. In Ramsay Traquair and G.A. Neilson, “The Architecture of the Hôpital Général, Quebec,” from McGill University Publications on Art and Architecture Series 13. 31 (Montreal: McGill UP, 1931) (5).

“The Lamb Homestead,” illustrated by J.R. Seavey. In Mrs. Dick-Lauder et al., Pen and Pencil Sketches of Wentworth Landmarks (Hamilton: The Spectator, 1897) (119).

“The Magic Moment! The SASER unveiled!” photograph by Marilyn Westlake. In Michael Dean and Steven Smith, Science Takes Leap from Top of CN Tower: The Back-of-Own-Head Experiment (Toronto: L’Affaire Pataphysique, 1985) (7).

“The Market House- Guelph” 1830 http://www.uoguelph.ca/history/urban/article2_fig-12.html

“The Most Popular A-frame in U.S.A.” Advertisement in Free-Time Homes, 1962. In Chad Randl A-Frame. (New York: Princeton Architectural, 2004) (96).

“The Orphans’ or Urseline Nunnery, Quebec, 1759,” engraving by R. Short. In F. St. George Spendlove, The Face of Early Canada (Toronto: The Ryerson Press, 1958) (np).

“The White City” http://www.flaglermuseum.us/images/expoBIG.jpg

“Thirty Years in the Bush,” illustration by J.C. McLagan. In John Macoun, Manitoba and the Great North-west: the Field for Investment; the Home of the Emigrant, being a Full and Complete History of the Country (Guelph: World Publishing Company, 1882) (211).

“Three Years After Settlement on the Prairie,” illustration by J.C. McLagan. In John Macoun, Manitoba and the Great North-west: the Field for Investment; the Home of the Emigrant, being a Full and Complete History of the Country (Guelph: World Publishing Company, 1882) (180).

“Thunderbird and Whale,” photograph courtesy of the Department of Education, Government of B.C. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (144).

“Top of Brock Monument” http://www.niagarafrontier.com/image/Ttopbrock.jpg

“Toronto City Hall” http://www.city.toronto.on.ca/ourcity/cityhall.htm

“Toronto Model ,” by Dereck Revington. December 14, 2004.

“Toronto Municipal Buildings” http://www.ontla.on.ca/Side_bar/visitor_information/out/index.htm

“Totems,” photograph courtesy of the Department of Education, Government of B.C. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (129).

“Two Years After Settlement on the Prairie,” illustration by J.C. McLagan. In John Macoun, Manitoba and the Great North-west: the Field for Investment; the Home of the Emigrant, being a Full and Complete History of the Country (Guelph: World Publishing Company, 1882) (48).

“Typical Log Shanty.” In Clifford B. Theberge, Elaine Theberge, ed., At the Edge of the Shield: A History of Smith Township 1818-1980 (Peterborough: Smith Township Historical Committee, 1982) (106).

“Typical London District Homestead,” courtesy of the Ontario Archives. In Brian Dawe, “Old Oxford is WIDE AWAKE!” (Lindsay: John Deyell, 1980) (25).

“U.B.C. Memorial Gymnasium,” photograph by Jack Cash. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (142).

“Umbrella,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (127).

“Union Bridge” http://aix1.uottawa.ca/~weinberg/bridges.html

“Untitled.” In F. B. Tupper, ed., Family Records; containing Memoirs of Major-General Sir Isaac Brock, &c., &c., &c. (London: Stephen Barbet, 1835) (frontis.).

“Untitled.” In K. McCabe ed., The Poetry of Old Niagara. (St. Catharines: Blarney Stone Books, 1999) (16).

“Untitled.” In Robert Malcolmson, Burying General Brock: A History of Brock’s Monuments (Canada: Peninsula Press, 1996) (49).

“Upper Canada College, Toronto, U.C., 1835,” engraving by Young and Currier. In F. St. George Spendlove, The Face of Early Canada (Toronto: The Ryerson Press, 1958) (np).

“Vancouver Lawn Tennis and Badminton Club,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (143).

“Vancouver Public Aquarium,” photograph by E.M. Allen. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (143).

“Vancouver Public Library,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (141).

“Vancouver Skyline,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (134).

“Victoria Bridge” http://web.ulib.csuohio.edu/watson/albums/bridge641.jpg

“View from North East.” In Philip J. Turner, “Christ Church Cathedral, Montreal,” from McGill University Publications on Art and Architecture Series 13. 17 (Montreal: McGill UP, 1927) (5).

“View of Cape Diamond, from Wolfe’s Cove, near Quebec,” engraving by Isaac Weld. In Isaac Weld, Travels through the States of North America. (1808) (New York: Johnson Reprint, 1968) (1:347).

“View of the Old Suspension Bridge above the Whirlpool Rapids.” In Charles Mason Dow, Anthology and Bibliography of Niagara Falls (Albany: J.B. Lyon, 1921) (2: 750).

“View Royal Elementary School,” photograph by Duncan MacPhail. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (140).

“Villa in the Italian Style,” (Figure 119), illustration from Andrew Jackson Downing, The Architecture of Country Houses (1850) (facing page 285).

“Wall Mural,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (145).

“Waterfront” http://www.tourismprincerupert.com/images/waterfront.jpg

“Wescott School,” photo uncredited. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (140).

“Western Block, Departmental Buildings,” artist: C.E.H. Bonwill; engraving by J.R. Geraty. In George Monro Grant, ed., Picturesque Canada; the Country as It Was and Is (Toronto: James Clarke, 1883) (180).

“Westminster Abbey, Mission, B.C.,” photograph by Selwyn Pullan. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (128).

“William H. Merritt 1793-1862.” From the Thomas Charles Collection, Library and National Archives of Canada. (Accession: 1957).

“Windsor Hotel” http://collections.ic.gc.ca/montreal/img/d283.jpg

“Wong House,” photograph by Graham Warrington. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (124).

“Zolton S. Kiss Residence,” photograph by Selwyn Pullan. In Earle Birney, “Photostory,” from the British Columbia Centennial issue of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Journal 35.4 (1958) (124).