March 2013: Welcome Professor Johanna Blacquiere

We are pleased to announce that Dr. Johanna Blacquiere has accepted our offer of an appointment as Assistant Professor of Chemistry! Dr. Blacquiere completed her PhD in 2011 at the University of Ottawa under the supervision of Professor Deryn Fogg where she worked in the area of organometallic chemsitry with applications in olefin metathesis and dinitrogen activation. She then joined the Center for Molecular Electrocatalysis, a collaborative Energy Frontier Research Center funded by the U.S. Department of Energy in Seattle, Washington, as an NSERC postdoctoral fellow working with the world-renowned chemist Professor James Mayer.

Dr. Blacquiere's research interests are diverse ranging from transition metal to mechanistic chemistry. Her research program is aimed at developing sustainable transition metal catalysts. Not only will her appointment ensure the continued success of our inorganic and organic chemistry courses, her research interests complement those in the Energy and Mechanism and the Synthesis and Catalysis research clusters in the Department of Chemistry and the research interests at Western in the area of Environment and Sustainability.

Johanna's email is Please join us in welcoming her to our department. She will start on July 1.

Contact Us

Yining Huang
Department Chair

Martin Stillman
Associate Chair

Stella Constas
Graduate Admissions Coordinator

Kay Calvin
Chair, Undergraduate Counselling

Anna Vandendries-Barr
Administrative Officer

Darlene McDonald
Graduate Coordinator

Department of Chemistry
Western University
Chemistry Building
1151 Richmond Street
London, Ontario, Canada N6A 5B7

P (519) 661-2166
F (519) 661-3022

Office Hours
Monday-Friday 8:30-4:30

Connect with Western

FacebookYou TubeFlickrTwitter
Social Media

Western provides the best student experience among Canada's leading research-intensive universities.