Brain and Mind Institute

Chair Appointments

Western Research Chairs

The Western Research Chair Program (WRC) is specific to the Western Clusters of Research Excellence program and is modeled after Tier 1 CRCs. New appointments receive up to $500K (discipline dependent) in start-up funds, leveraged with the CFI LOF as allowed.  

Tim Bussey - WRC for Cognitive Neuroscience (Robarts)
Jörn Diedrichsen - WRC for Motor Control and Computational Neuroscience
Ingrid Johnsrude - WRC for Cognitive Neuroscience (Psychology)


Canada Research Chairs

The Canada Research Chairs Program was established by the federal government in 2000 to promote excellence and innovation in research by rewarding the country's leading academics and attracting the best research minds in the world to study at Canadian universities.

BMI Core Members

BMI Associate Members


Canada Excellence Research Chair

The Canada Excellence Research Chairs (CERC) Program awards universities up to $10 million over seven years to support world‑renowned researchers and their teams to establish ambitious research programs at Canadian universities.

Adrian Owen - CERC for Cognitive Neuroscience and Imaging


NSERC Industrial Research Chair

The Industrial Research Chairs (IRC) program is funded jointly by NSERC and industry to:

Blaine Chronik - NSERC/Synaptive Medical Inc. Industrial Research Chair in Magnetic Resonance Systems Development (Senior IRC)